Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47547EST. V47547

Intermountain Packing, LLC

USDA-inspected cattle slaughter and beef and bison processing in Idaho Falls, Idaho.

1096 East Iona Road, Idaho Falls, Idaho 83401 · Bonneville County

intermountainpacking.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for meat slaughter and processing; cattle reported as the species slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·Website describes a 66,000 square foot beef and bison plant on 13 acres, with harvesting, fabrication, steak portioning, grinding, and packaging on site.
  • ·Custom-exempt slaughter reported to FSIS, so customer-owned animals can be processed with Not for Sale packaging.
  • ·FSIS size class small, slaughter volume category 3.0.
  • ·Facility tours and test loads offered by request per the website; a 2026 news snippet about an Idaho Falls plant closure of similar description is unverified for this establishment.

About Intermountain Packing, LLC

Intermountain Packing, LLC operates at 1096 East Iona Road in Idaho Falls, Bonneville County, Idaho, under USDA establishment numbers M47547 and V47547. The federal record lists activities for meat identification, meat slaughter, meat processing, and voluntary slaughter and processing of meat. FSIS classes the plant as small, records cattle as the species slaughtered under inspection, and places it in slaughter volume category 3.0. The grant of inspection on file is dated October 18, 2022. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it can process animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale.

The company website describes a 66,000 square foot beef and bison processing and packing plant on 13 acres off Iona Road, with harvesting, fabrication, steak portioning, grinding, and packaging offered under one roof. The site states the company aims to serve local ranchers, third party marketers, the harvesting industry, grocery stores, and local consumers, and cites shipping to 48 or more states plus international shipping. The site invites prospective customers to schedule a facility tour and, after a tour, a test load. Site material attributes the founding vision to David Adams, listed as CEO, who saw a need for a meatpacking plant serving ranchers, small-scale meat marketers, and feedlot operators in the region.

A secondary news snippet dated April 2026 refers to an Idaho Falls packing plant of the same 66,000 square foot beef and bison description, operating as American Farmers Network, closing suddenly with 150 job losses. That snippet does not name Intermountain Packing directly, so the registry does not treat it as confirmed for this establishment. Buyers and haulers should confirm current operating status directly. Retail hours, price lists, and cut and wrap terms are not stated in the sources on file.

Details beyond the federal record and the company website are not yet on file.

Services

  • Cattle slaughter under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals
  • Meat processing
  • Harvesting
  • Fabrication
  • Steak portioning
  • Grinding
  • Packaging
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing of meat (non-amenable species)
  • Facility tours by appointment
  • Test loads for prospective customers

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbulls

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Bison
  • Portioned steaks
  • Ground meat

For farmers and ranchers

The website states the company was formed to serve ranchers, feedlots, and other meat marketers, and describes a goal of flexible and easy scheduling. Harvesting, fabrication, steak portioning, grinding, and packaging are offered under one roof at the 66,000 square foot plant. The federal record shows cattle slaughter under inspection plus custom-exempt slaughter, so animals owned by a customer can be processed with packages marked Not for Sale. Voluntary slaughter and processing activities on the FSIS record cover species not amenable to mandatory inspection, which is consistent with the bison work the website describes. Booking procedures, lead times, minimum head counts, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources. The website asks prospective customers to call or use the contact form to schedule a tour, and to arrange a test load after touring.

Intermountain Packing, LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website lists local consumers among the groups the company aims to serve, along with grocery stores and third party marketers, and cites shipping to 48 or more states plus international shipping. No retail counter, freezer inventory, half or quarter beef program, bundle, online ordering, or delivery service is described in the sources on file. Households should contact the plant directly to ask what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Intermountain Packing, LLC

Does Intermountain Packing do custom processing for farmers and ranchers?
The federal record shows the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, which means animals owned by the customer can be processed with packages marked Not for Sale. The website says the company aims to serve ranchers, feedlots, and other meat marketers and describes flexible scheduling. Specific booking windows, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources.
What species are handled here?
FSIS records cattle as the species slaughtered under inspection. The website describes the plant as a beef and bison processing facility, and the federal record includes voluntary slaughter and processing activities, which apply to species such as bison.
Can a household buy meat directly from the plant?
The website lists local consumers among the groups it aims to serve and cites shipping to 48 or more states plus international shipping, but no retail store, hours, half or quarter beef program, or online ordering is described in the sources on file.
Is the plant currently operating?
The sources do not confirm current operating status. A secondary news snippet from April 2026 describes an Idaho Falls beef and bison plant of the same 66,000 square foot size, operating as American Farmers Network, closing with 150 job losses, but it does not name Intermountain Packing. Contact the plant directly to confirm.

Federal record

Activities
Identification - Meat; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
October 18, 2022
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Medium volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://intermountainpacking.com/, https://intermountainpacking.com/about) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Idaho Falls