Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M1675EST. V1675

Oxford Packing LLC

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing for beef, pork, and lamb or goat in Downey, Idaho.

22993 Race Track Road, Downey, Idaho 83234 · Bannock County

oxfordpacking.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·FSIS grant of inspection on file dated February 22, 2024.
  • ·Reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection.
  • ·Also reports custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Very small plant, FSIS slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Cutting instruction forms offered for beef, pork, and lamb or goat.

About Oxford Packing LLC

Oxford Packing LLC operates a USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant at 22993 Race Track Road in Downey, Bannock County, Idaho. The establishment holds FSIS establishment numbers M1675 and V1675, with a grant of inspection date on file of February 22, 2024. FSIS lists its activities as meat processing, meat slaughter, voluntary processing of meat, and voluntary slaughter of meat, and classifies the plant as very small.

The plant reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection, with a slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales. Its website describes Oxford Packing as a USDA inspected facility providing a link between farm and fork and lists cutting instruction forms for beef, pork, and lamb or goat.

Details beyond the federal record and the plant's own brief website are not yet on file. The website's pricing page carried no published rates in the text fetched, and no information on booking windows, minimums, delivery, or shipping is stated.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing of meat
  • Cut and wrap to customer instructions

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowslambs

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Lamb or goat

Hours as listed

The website states "feel free to visit during normal business hours" and its hours widget showed "Today Closed" when fetched. Specific days and times are not stated.

For farmers and ranchers

Oxford Packing reports both federally inspected and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, and reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. Producers selling meat by the cut or by the carcass can use the inspected side; animals brought in for the owner's own use fall under the custom exemption and are returned in packages marked Not for Sale. The website asks customers to fill out cutting instructions and offers separate forms for beef, pork, and lamb or goat. FSIS places the plant in the smallest slaughter volume category, under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. Booking lead times, scheduling policy, minimums, and per-head or per-pound fees are not stated in the sources on file. Contact the plant at (208) 897-5179 or oxfordpackingidaho@gmail.com to confirm availability.

Oxford Packing LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes Oxford Packing as a USDA inspected butcher shop and invites customers to visit during normal business hours, and the plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which allows direct sales to household buyers. The sources on file do not state what cuts or bundles are stocked, whether halves and quarters are sold, or whether delivery, shipping, or online ordering is available. Buyers who order a whole or half animal from a farm can have it cut to their own instructions using the plant's beef, pork, or lamb and goat cutting instruction forms.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Oxford Packing LLC

What species does Oxford Packing slaughter?
The plant reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb to FSIS. Its website also lists a cutting instruction form for lamb or goat.
Can I buy meat directly from the plant?
Oxford Packing reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS and its website describes a USDA inspected butcher shop open during normal business hours. Specific retail products, bundles, and whether halves or quarters are sold are not stated in the sources on file.
What does it cost to have an animal processed?
Not stated. The website has a page titled USDA Butcher Pricing, but no rates appeared in the text on file. Call (208) 897-5179 for current pricing.
How far ahead do I need to book?
Not stated in the sources on file. FSIS lists the plant in the smallest slaughter volume category, under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited and callers should confirm scheduling directly.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
February 22, 2024
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://oxfordpacking.com/, https://oxfordpacking.com/usda-butcher-pricing) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Downey