Federally inspected establishment
EST. M2198Paris Frozen Foods
USDA-inspected slaughter and processing locker in Hillsboro, Illinois, handling cattle, hogs, and sheep.
Paris Frozen Foods 305 Springfield Road, Hillsboro, Illinois 62049 · Montgomery County
At a glance
- ·USDA establishment number M2198, listed for both meat slaughter and meat processing
- ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, as reported to FSIS
- ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
- ·Reports retail-exempt sales; listed locally as a butcher shop and locker
- ·FSIS slaughter volume category 1, under 1,000 head per year
About Paris Frozen Foods
Paris Frozen Foods operates at 305 Springfield Road in Hillsboro, Illinois, in Montgomery County, under USDA establishment number M2198. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS places its slaughter volume in the smallest category, under 1,000 head per year, and lists no size class.
In addition to federally inspected work, the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns the meat in packages marked Not for Sale. It also reports retail-exempt sales, which is the category that covers selling meat directly to household buyers at the plant. The business is listed in local directories as Paris Frozen Foods Locker, a butcher shop, and a Facebook page for the business notes restocking of items such as Big Porkies and hamburger.
Beyond the federal record and these brief listings, details about booking, fees, cut and wrap options, hours, ownership, and history are not yet on file. Buyers and producers should contact the plant directly at (217) 710-0372 to confirm current practice, since nothing here indicates whether the plant is accepting new work.
This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.
Services
- USDA-inspected meat slaughter
- USDA-inspected meat processing
- Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals
- Retail-exempt sales
Species under inspection
Products and retail
- Hamburger
- Big Porkies
For farmers and ranchers
The federal record lists Paris Frozen Foods for meat slaughter and meat processing, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported to FSIS as species slaughtered under inspection. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, so producers can have their own animals processed with the meat returned in packages marked Not for Sale. FSIS places annual slaughter volume in the under 1,000 head category, which indicates a small operation. Scheduling lead times, minimums, kill day availability, hanging fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file. Call (217) 710-0372 to ask about current booking.
Paris Frozen Foods reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales and is listed in local directories as a butcher shop under the name Paris Frozen Foods Locker. A Facebook post referenced in search results mentions restocking hamburger and an item called Big Porkies, which suggests a retail counter with packaged product, though the sources do not describe a full product list. Whether the plant sells halves and quarters, offers bundles, ships, or takes online orders is not stated in the sources on file.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about Paris Frozen Foods
What animals does Paris Frozen Foods slaughter?
Can a farmer bring an animal for personal use?
Can households buy meat directly?
What are the hours?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
- Grant on file
- May 1, 2026
- Size class
- Not classified
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Hillsboro
- Korte Meat Processing Inc.31 mi
Highland · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Trenton Processing40 mi
Trenton · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Moweaqua Packing Plant41 mi
Moweaqua · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Behrmann Meat & Processing, Inc.43 mi
Albers · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Triple Sticks Foods LLC51 mi
Belleville · species not reported
- Wenneman Meat Company, Inc.56 mi
St. Libory · Cattle, Hogs · custom-exempt