Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M3265EST. V3265

Heritage Meats, Inc.

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Leoti, Kansas, with a retail meat counter.

406 E Broadway, Leoti, Kansas 67861 · Wichita County

heritage-meats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptRetail-exempt sales reported to FSISCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison under federal inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Very Small FSIS size class with reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Published custom processing price lists for beef and pork, including slaughter, cut and wrap, curing, smoking, and sausage making.
  • ·Retail counter with a broad beef and pork list, including offal, dry-aged steaks, and multiple house sausage and bacon varieties.
  • ·Listed hours are Monday through Friday, 7 to 5:30 Central Time.

About Heritage Meats, Inc.

Heritage Meats, Inc. operates at 406 E Broadway in Leoti, Kansas, in Wichita County. The plant holds federal establishment numbers M3265 and V3265, with a grant of inspection date on file of 2025-07-28. FSIS lists its activities as meat identification, meat processing, meat slaughter, and voluntary meat slaughter and processing. It is classed as Very Small, and its reported slaughter volume category is 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packaged marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The business describes itself as a family owned and operated, USDA inspected butcher shop. Its stated specialty is "From the Pasture to the Plate," processing customer-owned livestock to the owner's cut specifications. The website lists hours of Monday through Friday, 7 to 5:30 Central Time, and gives a phone number of 620-871-0241 and an email of heritagemeatsleoti@gmail.com. The site invites questions about cuts, products, food safety, and cooking methods.

Alongside custom work, Heritage Meats runs a retail counter with published price lists for beef and pork. The beef list was noted as updated 4/16/2026 and the pork list as updated 10/5/2023, with custom processing prices noted as updated 3/12/2026. Prices and availability change, so buyers should confirm current figures directly with the plant.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing of customer-owned animals
  • Cut and wrap to customer specifications
  • Curing and smoking
  • Sausage, brat, snack stick, and summer sausage making
  • Jerky smoking and packaging
  • Patty making
  • Tenderizing
  • Retail meat sales
  • Sourcing of beef and pork for customers without livestock

Species under inspection

steersheifershogslambsbison

Products and retail

  • Beef halves and quarters
  • Pork wholes and halves
  • Ground beef, patties, hamburger steaks, bacon cheeseburger patties
  • Beef roasts including arm, chuck, boneless chuck, Pikes Peak, rump, and sirloin tip
  • Steaks including sirloin, sirloin cap, KC strip, flat iron, T-bone, ribeye, filet mignon, skirt, flank, tri-tip
  • Dry-aged steaks (limited availability)
  • Brisket flat, whole beef filet, top sirloin cap, fresh prime rib
  • Beef liver, heart, oxtail, tongue, cheek meat, beef head, espinazo de vaca
  • Sliced breaded bull fries
  • Raw and smoked bones
  • Carne asada, fajita meat, stew meat, soup bones, short ribs
  • Fresh pork chops, cutlets, steaks, roasts, filets, St. Louis and babyback ribs, fresh side
  • Bulk sausage varieties: Grandma's Choice, Maple, Papa's Green Chili, Farmer's, Country Style, Mennonite Heritage, Grandpa's Best, Italian, Harvester's Special
  • Chorizo, sausage coils, breakfast links, sausage patties
  • Fresh brats: Blue Ribbon, Apple, Jalapeno and Cheese, Cheesy German
  • Smoked brats: Andouille, German, Jalapeno and Cheese, Kielbasa
  • Sugar-cured bacon: Blue Ribbon, Peppered, Apple Cinnamon, Jalapeno
  • Pork skin, pork feet, pork head, espinazo de puerco
  • Natural beef (access noted)

Hours as listed

M-F: 7-5:30 Central Time

For farmers and ranchers

Heritage Meats reports meat slaughter to FSIS for cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison, and also reports custom-exempt slaughter for animals owned by the customer, packaged marked Not for Sale. The website states animals are processed to the owner's specifications. Published custom beef charges are a $100 per head slaughter charge, processing at $1.03 per pound hanging weight, a $20 per head disposal fee, tenderizing at $16 per beef, patties at $0.72 per pound, jerky at $5.66 per package, summer sausage or snack stick making at $3.09 per pound, and curing and smoking at $1.13 per pound. Published custom pork charges are a $65 per head slaughter charge, processing at $1.03 per pound hanging weight, a $10 disposal fee, curing and smoking at $1.13 per pound, bulk sausage at $0.72 per pound, sausage links at $0.77 per pound, breakfast links at $1.55 per pound, patties at $1.03 per pound, brats at $1.55 per pound, jalapeno and cheese at $0.77 per pound, and cheese at $0.67 per pound. The site notes an extra charge for larger quantities of boneless or cubed product, and offers an online form to submit cutting instructions. Prices were noted as updated 3/12/2026. Booking procedures, lead times, and scheduling windows are not stated in the sources.

Heritage Meats, Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website directs customers to stop by the store for retail beef and pork, and publishes item-by-item price lists for both. Buyers wanting more than ten pounds of any single item are asked to call, and the site says items not listed may be available on request. Beef halves and quarters and pork wholes and halves are offered, and for buyers without access to livestock the shop states it can source beef and pork and cut and package it to specification, including access to "Natural Beef." Delivery, shipping, and online ordering are not mentioned in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Heritage Meats, Inc.

What animals does Heritage Meats slaughter?
The FSIS record lists cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison as species slaughtered under inspection. The website's price pages cover beef and pork custom processing only.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and its website describes processing to the owner's specifications with published per head and per pound charges. Booking procedures and lead times are not stated in the sources.
Can I buy meat without owning livestock?
Yes as described on the site. Heritage Meats operates a retail counter with published beef and pork prices, and states it can source high quality beef and pork, including access to "Natural Beef," then cut and package to the customer's specifications.
Does Heritage Meats ship or deliver?
Shipping, delivery, and online ordering are not mentioned in the sources. The website provides a phone number, an email address, a contact form, and a form to submit cutting instructions.
Is the plant currently taking new customers?
That is not stated in the sources. The information here reflects the federal record and the website as listed. Contact the plant at 620-871-0241 to confirm availability and current prices.

Federal record

Activities
Identification - Meat; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
July 28, 2025
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.heritage-meats.com/, https://www.heritage-meats.com/beef-1) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Leoti