Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M2774EST. V2774

Siebert Premium Meats

USDA-inspected cattle and hog slaughter and processing plant north of Colby, Kansas.

2401 K25, Colby, Kansas 67701 · Thomas County

siebertpremiummeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·FSIS-listed for cattle and hog slaughter plus meat processing at Colby, Kansas.
  • ·Grant of inspection date on file is February 4, 2025.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·FSIS size class Very Small, with reported slaughter under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Website store page describes locally grown Kansas beef; further website detail is not on file.

About Siebert Premium Meats

Siebert Premium Meats operates at 2401 K25 in Colby, Kansas, in Thomas County, under USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service establishment numbers M2774 and V2774. The federal record lists the plant for meat slaughter, meat processing, meat identification, and voluntary slaughter and processing of meat, with a grant of inspection date on file of February 4, 2025. FSIS classifies the establishment as Very Small, and its reported slaughter volume falls in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year.

The species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle and hogs. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales, which allows direct sales to household buyers at the establishment. The business website describes the operation as a USDA inspected slaughter facility in Colby and states that the Sieberts turned a personal hobby into the business; an associated Facebook page describes it as a custom slaughter facility located just north of Colby.

The website on file, siebertpremiummeats.com, includes a store page described as a source for locally grown Kansas beef, and a Shop Kansas Farms listing mentions locally grown beef and chicken. Full website text was not available for this record, so details on hours, booking procedures, cut and wrap options, fees, and shipping are not yet on file beyond what the federal record and these brief listings state. Buyers and producers should contact the plant directly at (785) 443-1650 to confirm current services, as listed.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Meat identification
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing of meat
  • Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

steersheifershogsyak

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Locally grown Kansas beef
  • Chicken (per Shop Kansas Farms listing)

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both federally inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, so animals can be handled either for resale under inspection or as customer-owned meat packaged Not for Sale. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle and hogs. FSIS lists the establishment as Very Small with a slaughter volume of under 1,000 head per year, so scheduling capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, hanging weight fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file; producers should call (785) 443-1650 to confirm.

Siebert Premium Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, and its website includes a store page described as a source for locally grown Kansas beef. A Shop Kansas Farms listing mentions locally grown beef and chicken. Whether the plant sells halves, quarters, bundles, or individual cuts, and whether delivery, shipping, or online ordering are offered, is not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Siebert Premium Meats

What animals does Siebert Premium Meats slaughter?
The species reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection are cattle and hogs. No other species are listed in the federal record.
Can a farmer bring in an animal for personal use?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, which covers animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Booking details, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Can households buy meat directly from the plant?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales, and its website includes a store page describing locally grown Kansas beef. Specific bundles, prices, pickup arrangements, and shipping are not stated in the sources on file.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is (785) 443-1650.

Federal record

Activities
Identification - Meat; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
February 4, 2025
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Colby