Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M31898EST. P31898EST. V31898

Kensington Lockers Inc.

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant with a retail meat counter in Kensington, Kansas.

218 W. Highway 36, Kensington, Kansas 66951 · Smith County

kensingtonlockers.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt operations reported to FSISRetail-exempt operations reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·FSIS grant of inspection date on file is April 18, 2017; size class Very Small, under 1,000 head slaughtered per year.
  • ·Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb are slaughtered under federal inspection; the website also lists buffalo, deer, elk and goat processing.
  • ·Beef and pork cutting instruction forms can be submitted online; deer processing is arranged by phone.
  • ·Published processing fee schedule covers butcher fees, per-pound processing, weight surcharges and specialty items.
  • ·Retail counter with beef, pork and smoked specialty products; 3 percent discount for cash or check.

About Kensington Lockers Inc.

Kensington Lockers Inc. operates at 218 W. Highway 36 in Kensington, Kansas, in Smith County. The plant holds establishment numbers M31898, P31898 and V31898 and is listed with USDA FSIS for Meat Processing, Meat Slaughter, Voluntary Processing - Meat and Voluntary Slaughter - Meat. FSIS classifies it as Very Small, with a grant of inspection date on file of April 18, 2017. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, with a reported slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.

The company website states that Kensington Lockers slaughters and processes beef, buffalo, deer, elk, goat, lamb and pork for Kansas and surrounding states' farmers and ranchers. The site describes the business as a regional custom slaughterhouse and retail meat store and references 40 years of combined experience. Beef and pork processing instruction forms can be submitted online, and a deer price sheet is posted, with deer processing bookings taken by phone. A note on the site refers to accepting whole carcass deer on September 8.

Retail products listed on the website include a full beef and pork case plus smoked and further-processed specialty items. The site notes that prices are subject to change, that credit cards are accepted with a 3 percent discount applied for cash or check payments, and that customers who submit the required form pay no sales tax on meat processing. Gift cards are available online for shipping or pickup at the locker.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing (non-amenable species)
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Cut and wrap to customer instructions
  • Online beef and pork cutting instruction forms
  • Deer, elk and buffalo processing as listed
  • Curing and smoking
  • Sausage making and stuffing
  • Jerky and snack stick making
  • Vacuum packaging and paper wrap options
  • Kill and chill (cooling only)
  • Lard rendering
  • Gift cards

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowssheeplambsyak

Products and retail

  • Chuck, arm, rump and Pikes Peak roasts
  • Prime rib roast
  • Sirloin, ribeye, rib, T-bone/KC, tenderized round and cubed minute steaks
  • Bacon wrapped fillet
  • Beef brisket, stew meat, neck bones
  • Ground beef and ground beef patties
  • Beef tongue, ox tail, beef liver
  • Pork chops, spare ribs, country style ribs, cutlets
  • Bacon, bacon ends, cottage bacon, fresh side
  • Pork roast, ground pork and patties
  • Seasoned sausage, sausage patties, mini link sausages
  • Smoked bone-in and boneless ham, ham slices, slivered ham
  • Rendered lard
  • Ham loaf, pruttles, bierocks
  • Beef sticks, summer sausage, ring bologna, salami
  • Polish and German sausage, bratwurst, jalapeno and cheese polish
  • Jerky strips and whole muscle jerky
  • Smoked pork chops, whole smoked turkey, whole smoked chicken
  • Ready to eat BBQ ribs, cooked roast beef, cooked roast pork
  • Slivered smoked turkey, slivered roast beef, dried beef
  • Bacon burger and beef bacon cheeseburger patties
  • Oven ready cookie dough, frozen pies

Hours as listed

Monday to Friday 8am-12pm and 1pm-5pm; Saturday 8am-12pm; Sunday closed. The site advises checking its Facebook page daily for holiday hours.

For farmers and ranchers

The website states that Kensington Lockers slaughters and processes beef, buffalo, deer, elk, goat, lamb and pork for Kansas and surrounding states' farmers and ranchers, and the plant reports both federally inspected and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS. Beef and pork cutting instruction forms are available to submit online, and the site says meat will be processed to the customer's specific instructions. Posted processing fees include a beef butcher fee of $75.00 per animal, pork and sheep or goat butcher fees of $65.00 per animal, buffalo at $105.00 per animal, processing at $0.95 per pound for beef, pork, sheep and goat and $1.25 per pound for buffalo, an emergency butcher fee of $150.00, a late butcher fee of $100.00 per head, cooling only (kill and chill) at $0.55 per pound, condemned carcass disposal fees, weight surcharges for beef over 1,000 and 1,500 pounds and pork over 300 to 500 pounds, a $50.00 charge to hang beef longer than 14 days, a $0.05 per pound add-on to mark for resale processing, and USDA inspection for yak at $85.00 per hour. Deer butcher and processing fees are updated each year and deer processing is submitted by phone. Booking windows, minimums and scheduling lead times are not stated on the site.

Kensington Lockers Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The plant operates a retail meat store and reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. The website lists priced retail beef, pork and specialty items and asks customers to call 785-476-2834 or stop in for current pricing, noting that all prices are subject to change. Credit cards are accepted, with a 3 percent discount applied for cash or check payments. The processing page states that Kensington Lockers sells home grown beef and pork that it can process on request, that customers may purchase a whole or half, and that hormone free beef is available for sale with more information by phone. Gift cards can be purchased online for shipping or picked up at the locker. Delivery and shipping of meat are not stated.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Kensington Lockers Inc.

Does Kensington Lockers do custom processing for farmers?
Yes as listed. The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, where animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, and the website states it slaughters and processes for Kansas and surrounding states' farmers and ranchers. It also offers federally inspected processing and a mark for resale processing add-on of $0.05 per pound.
What species are handled?
The plant reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under federal inspection. The website adds buffalo, deer, elk and goat, and the fee sheet references yak under voluntary USDA inspection at $85.00 per hour.
Can a household buy meat directly?
The website lists a retail product line of beef, pork and specialty items with prices, and says whole or half beef and pork raised and sold by Kensington Lockers can be processed on request. Retail-exempt sales are reported to FSIS. Shipping of meat is not stated; gift cards are the only item the site describes as available for online purchase and shipping.
How far ahead must processing be scheduled?
Scheduling lead times, booking windows and minimums are not stated in the sources on file. The fee sheet does list a late butcher fee of $100.00 per head and an emergency butcher fee of $150.00. Contact the plant at (785) 476-2834 to confirm current availability.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
April 18, 2017
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.kensingtonlockers.com/, https://www.kensingtonlockers.com/processing) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Kensington