Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M1720EST. P1720EST. V1720

Medicine Lodge Meat Company LLC

USDA-inspected beef and hog processing plant in Medicine Lodge, Kansas, with posted cut-and-kill pricing.

605 W 3rd Ave, Medicine Lodge, Kansas 67104 · Barber County

medicinelodgemeatco.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·FSIS very small plant, slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year
  • ·Reports cattle, hog, and sheep and lamb slaughter to FSIS; website emphasizes beef and hogs
  • ·Both federally inspected and custom-exempt processing, plus retail-exempt sales
  • ·Posted pricing: beef $0.99/lb hanging weight plus $105 butcher fee; hogs $1.35/lb plus $75 butcher fee
  • ·Website advertises 21 day aged beef, free live weights, and private labeling for summer sausage and snack sticks

About Medicine Lodge Meat Company LLC

Medicine Lodge Meat Company LLC operates at 605 W 3rd Ave in Medicine Lodge, Kansas, in Barber County, under FSIS establishment numbers M1720, P1720 and V1720. The federal record lists food inspection, meat identification, meat processing, meat slaughter and poultry processing activities, with a grant of inspection date on file of September 18, 2024. FSIS classifies the plant as very small, with a slaughter volume category of 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. Species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes the business as a new USDA beef processing facility and states it was established in 2023. Public-facing material centers on beef, with hog cutting orders also offered, so the federal record covers a wider set of species than the website emphasizes. The site says the operation is the first Kansas facility with a remote USDA grading program, offers 21 day aged beef, an open door facility, free live weights, customizable labels with color, customizable boxes, private labeling for summer sausage and snack sticks, and 21 to 30 day terms for commercial customers. The homepage states that beef is being scheduled and references 2026 dates.

Posted processing prices on the website are $0.99 per pound on hanging weight for beef with a $105 butcher fee, plus a $40 sanitation practices charge, $40 offal and waste disposal charge, and $40 food safety compliance charge. Hogs are listed at $1.35 per pound on hanging weight with a $75 butcher fee. The site notes that other fees may apply for add-on items or storage. Details beyond these items, including hours and staffing, are not on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Beef and hog cutting orders
  • Dry aging, 21 day aged beef
  • USDA carcass grading through a remote grading program
  • Private labeling for summer sausage and snack sticks
  • Customizable labels and boxes
  • Live weights

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Summer sausage
  • Snack sticks

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb to FSIS and is classified as very small, with under 1,000 head per year. It offers both federally inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter, where the customer keeps the meat in packages marked Not for Sale. Posted beef processing is $0.99 per pound on hanging weight with a $105 butcher fee, a $40 sanitation practices charge, $40 offal and waste disposal, and $40 food safety compliance. Hogs are $1.35 per pound on hanging weight with a $75 butcher fee, and the site notes other fees may apply for additional items or storage. Printable beef and hog cutting order forms are provided on the pricing page. The website advertises free live weights, an open door facility, customizable labels and boxes, private labeling for summer sausage and snack sticks, 21 to 30 day terms for commercial customers, and USDA certified grading through what it describes as the first remote USDA grading program in Kansas. The homepage states beef is being scheduled and references 2026. Minimum head counts and booking lead times are not stated in the sources.

Medicine Lodge Meat Company LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The company reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, and its website includes an inventory page and an online store framework, indicating meat is offered for purchase, though specific bundles, halves, quarters, delivery or shipping terms are not stated in the material on file. Beef is described as aged 21 days. A household buying a whole or split animal from a farmer would pay the posted per pound hanging weight processing charges and fees. Buyers should call (620) 930-2105 to confirm what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Medicine Lodge Meat Company LLC

What species does this plant slaughter?
FSIS records list cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection, and the federal record also lists poultry processing. The company website focuses on beef, with hog cutting orders also offered.
What does processing cost?
The website lists beef at $0.99 per pound on hanging weight with a $105 butcher fee, a $40 sanitation practices charge, $40 offal and waste disposal, and $40 food safety compliance. Hogs are $1.35 per pound on hanging weight with a $75 butcher fee. Other fees may apply for add-on items or storage.
Can I have my own animal processed and keep the meat?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. It also holds federal inspection for meat intended for sale.
What are the hours and how do I book?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The homepage says beef is being scheduled and references 2026 dates. The listed phone number is (620) 930-2105. Availability should be confirmed directly with the plant.

Federal record

Activities
Food Inspection; Identification - Meat; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
September 18, 2024
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.medicinelodgemeatco.com/, https://www.medicinelodgemeatco.com/prices) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Medicine Lodge