Federally inspected establishment
EST. M45427EST. P45427EST. V45427Phil's Farm
USDA-inspected farm to table butchery in Hutchinson, Kansas, raising its own poultry and processing beef, pork, and game.
5303 S. Whiteside Rd., Hutchinson, Kansas 67501 · Reno County
At a glance
- ·Very small plant with both meat and poultry slaughter and processing under federal inspection.
- ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales.
- ·Species reported slaughtered: cattle, hogs, elk or deer, and poultry. Voluntary inspection also covers rabbit.
- ·Halal and kosher slaughter both reported to FSIS.
- ·Two retail locations listed, Hutchinson and Delano in Wichita, plus listed farmers market dates.
About Phil's Farm
Phil's Farm operates a very small USDA-inspected plant at 5303 S. Whiteside Rd. in Hutchinson, Reno County, Kansas, under establishment numbers M45427, P45427, and V45427. The grant of inspection on file dates to October 6, 2021. FSIS activities listed include meat and poultry slaughter and processing, plus voluntary inspection for meat, poultry, and rabbit slaughter and processing. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, elk or deer, and poultry. The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales. Halal and kosher slaughter are both reported to FSIS. The FSIS slaughter volume category on file is 3.0.
The operation presents itself as Phil's Farm & Butchery, a locally owned farm to table business. According to its website, all poultry is raised in rural Reno County, pasture raised without antibiotics and fed non-GMO grains, and the company owns the USDA-inspected processing facility so that product is handled from start to finish. Pork and beef products are described as locally sourced. A price sheet posted on the site refers to Phil's Farm as established in 1999.
Beyond the Hutchinson plant, the website lists a Delano retail location at 1711 W Douglas Ave in Wichita, phone (316) 609-3273, and attendance at the Kansas Grown Farmer's Market at 7001 W 21st N in Wichita on listed October, November, and December dates from 7am to noon. Details on custom booking, minimums, cut and wrap fees, or shipping are not stated in the sources on file.
Services
- Meat slaughter and processing under USDA inspection
- Poultry slaughter and processing under USDA inspection
- Voluntary inspection slaughter and processing for meat, poultry, and rabbit
- Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals
- Retail-exempt sales
- Smoking and cured products
- Sausage and snack stick making
- Farmers market sales
Species under inspection
Products and retail
- Hickory smoked turkey breast
- Smoked turkey legs
- Turkey summer sausage
- Jerk marinated pork chops
- Stuffed pork chop
- Bacon wrapped pork filet
- Jowl bacon
- Heritage bacon
- Spare ribs
- Smoked pulled pork
- Grandma's marinated chicken breast
- Cordon bleu stuffed chicken breast
- Chicken lollipop
- Beer brats
- Chipotle fiesta brats
- Bonfire brat
- Habanero mango sausage
- Apple maple sausage
- Jalapeno cheddar sausage
- Bacon mac and cheese sausage
- Hotlinks
- Snack sticks
- Beef snack sticks
- Dutch burgers
- Brisket
- Ribeye
- Ribs
- Marrow bones
- Pikes Peak roast
- Jordan's jerk dry rub
- Farm raised brown chicken eggs
Hours as listed
Hutchinson: Mon-Thur 8am to 5pm, Fri 8am to 6pm. Delano (Wichita): Tue-Fri 9am to 6pm, Sat 8am to 1pm. Kansas Grown Farmer's Market: 7am to noon on listed dates (Oct 5, 12, 19, 26; Nov 23; Dec 21).
For farmers and ranchers
The federal record shows Phil's Farm reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports species including cattle, hogs, elk or deer, and poultry. Voluntary inspection covers meat, poultry, and rabbit slaughter and processing. Halal and kosher slaughter are both reported. The plant is classed by FSIS as very small, with a slaughter volume category of 3.0. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should call (620) 960-2673 to confirm what work is being taken, as listed.
Phil's Farm reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The website lists a Hutchinson location at 5303 S Whiteside Road, open Mon-Thur 8am to 5pm and Fri 8am to 6pm, and a Delano location at 1711 W Douglas Ave in Wichita, open Tue-Fri 9am to 6pm and Sat 8am to 1pm. The business also lists dates at the Kansas Grown Farmer's Market, 7001 W 21st N, Wichita, 7am to noon. Products named include smoked turkey, bacon, brats and sausages, snack sticks, brisket, ribeye, roasts, pulled pork, stuffed chicken and pork items, and farm raised brown chicken eggs. A product sheet is referenced on the website. Poultry is described as raised by the business in rural Reno County, pasture raised without antibiotics and fed non-GMO grains, with pork and beef locally sourced. Halves and quarters, bundles, delivery, shipping, and online ordering are not described in the sources on file; orders and questions are directed to email or phone.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about Phil's Farm
Does Phil's Farm process animals I own?
What species are slaughtered there?
Can I buy meat directly from Phil's Farm?
Is halal or kosher slaughter available?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Processing - Poultry; Voluntary Processing - Rabbit; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Poultry; Voluntary Slaughter - Rabbit
- Grant on file
- October 6, 2021
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Medium volume
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://phils.farm/, https://phils.farm/wp-content/uploads/2023/12/price-sheet-2023.pdf) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Hutchinson
- T & W Meat Company25 mi
Kingman · Cattle · custom-exempt
- Krehbiels Specialty Meats Inc36 mi
McPherson · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb, Bison, Elk, deer, yak, Poultry · custom-exempt
- Native American Enterprises, LLC40 mi
Wichita · species not reported
- Plainview Processing, LLC51 mi
Peabody · Cattle
- Medicine Lodge Meat Company LLC58 mi
Medicine Lodge · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Elkhorn Valley Packing LLC60 mi
Wellington · Cattle