Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M31866MEST. P31866MEST. V31866M

Woodson County Prime Meats Pro

USDA-inspected slaughter and custom processing for beef, hogs, lamb and goat in Yates Center, Kansas, with a retail meat counter.

702 W. Butler, Yates Center, Kansas 66783 · Woodson County

wocoprime.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·FSIS Very Small plant, slaughter volume category 1.0 (under 1,000 head per year).
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection; website also lists goat and buffalo custom processing.
  • ·Does not process deer, per the website.
  • ·Posted per-animal butcher fees and per-pound cut and wrap pricing, current as of 03/01/2020 per the site.
  • ·Retail counter with a published price list and two meat bundles.

About Woodson County Prime Meats Pro

Woodson County Prime Meats Pro operates at 702 W. Butler in Yates Center, Kansas, in Woodson County. The federal record lists establishment numbers M31866M, P31866M and V31866M, with FSIS activities covering meat processing, meat slaughter, and voluntary processing and slaughter of meat. FSIS classifies the plant as Very Small, with a grant of inspection date on file of 2021-10-12 and a slaughter volume category of 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year. Species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The business website identifies the company as Woodson County Prime Meat Processing, Inc., previously known as Yates Center Locker, and describes it as locally owned and operated and a partner to local ranchers, 4-H members, and other local suppliers of beef and hogs for over 10 years. Jennifer Hood is listed as plant manager. The site states that meats are USDA inspected or custom, and that the plant buys beef and hogs locally from producers who corn-feed for 120 days. Directions on the site place the shop about three blocks north of the Highway 54 and Highway 75 junction on Highway 75, then west onto West Butler, one block down on the left.

The processing page states that custom processing is offered for lamb, goat, buffalo, beef and hogs, and that the plant does not process deer. A note on that page reads "Tuesday is the Day." Beyond what is listed here, details such as regular business hours are not on file in the sources provided.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing of meat
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Cut and wrap with double-wrap packaging
  • Vacuum packaging for an additional fee
  • Curing and maple-flavored smoking for bacon and hams
  • Bratwurst and sausage seasoning
  • Beef, hog, lamb, goat and buffalo custom processing
  • Cold storage for finished meat, with weekly fees after one week

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifershogssowssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Ground beef in 1 lb and 2 lb packages
  • Ground chuck and lean ground beef (90/10)
  • Ground beef patties
  • T-bone, KC strip, ribeye, filet, porterhouse, sirloin, tenderized sirloin, round steak, minute steak
  • Tri-tip roast, prime rib roast, rump and pike roast, chuck and arm roast
  • Brisket, ribs, stew meat, soup bones
  • Pork chops, pork steak, cutlets, pork roast, ground pork
  • Country style ribs, spareribs, fresh side
  • Sausage in mild, medium or hot
  • Maple smoked bacon
  • Blue Ribbon, Habanero and Mango, Chicago bratwurst; Loaded Liberty
  • Lamb and goat meat
  • Prime Pork Eater bundle ($95.00)
  • Prime Meat Deluxe bundle ($135.00)

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both USDA-inspected slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, and custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals with packages marked Not for Sale. Its website lists custom processing for lamb, goat, buffalo, beef and hogs, and states that deer are not processed. Posted pricing, current as of 03/01/2020 per the site, includes a beef butcher fee of $70.00 per animal and disposal fee of $30.00 per animal; hog butcher fee $55.00 and disposal $30.00; lamb and goat butcher fee $30.00 and disposal $5.00. USDA inspection is listed at $40 per animal. Standard cut and package runs $0.75 per lb for beef and hogs and $0.68 per lb for lamb and goat, with higher rates for smaller packaging and bone-out work, plus charges for curing ($0.99 per lb), patties, 1 lb packaging, brats and vacuum packing. Beef processing orders are taken as quarters, halves or whole, and hogs as halves or whole. The site notes meat must be picked up within one week after the customer is informed it is finished, with a $25 per week fee otherwise, and meat forfeited to the locker on day 61. Beef and hog cut sheets are posted online. The site says to call to discuss a custom processing order. Booking lead times are not stated.

Woodson County Prime Meats Pro reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes a retail store selling individual cuts of beef, pork, lamb and goat in the quantities the customer wants, with a note to call to check availability. Retail beef and pork are double-wrapped or vacuum-packed depending on the cut. A posted price list includes ground beef, steaks, roasts, brisket, ribs, pork chops, sausage, maple smoked bacon and bratwurst, along with two bundles, the Prime Pork Eater at $95.00 and the Prime Meat Deluxe at $135.00. The site states pricing is subject to change and asks buyers to verify pricing and items when ordering. Households can also buy a whole animal through the plant, which says it buys locally from stock corn-fed for 120 days, and take delivery as beef quarters, halves or whole, or hog halves or whole. Orders are placed by phone or in person. No online ordering or shipping is mentioned.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Woodson County Prime Meats Pro

Can I bring my own animal for processing?
Yes, as listed. The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals to FSIS, with packages marked Not for Sale, and its website invites customers to process their own beef or hog and to call about custom orders for lamb, goat, buffalo, beef and hogs.
What does processing cost?
The website lists a beef butcher fee of $70.00 per animal, hogs at $55.00, and lamb or goat at $30.00, plus disposal fees of $30.00 for beef and hogs and $5.00 for lamb and goat. USDA inspection is listed at $40 per animal. Standard cut and package is $0.75 per lb for beef and hogs and $0.68 per lb for lamb and goat, with extra charges for smaller packaging, bone-out, curing, patties, brats and vacuum packing. The site notes this pricing is current as of 03/01/2020 and that additional fees apply for non-standard work.
How long can finished meat stay at the plant?
The website states meat must be picked up within one week after the customer is informed it is finished, a $25 per week fee applies after that, and on day 61 the meat is forfeited to the locker.
What are the hours?
Business hours are not stated in the sources on file. A secondary Facebook snippet references closing at 3:00 pm on Saturdays, but hours are not confirmed on the plant website. Call (620) 625-2711 to confirm.
Can I buy meat without ordering a whole animal?
Yes, as listed. The website describes a retail store with individual cuts of beef, pork, lamb and goat, a posted price list, and two bundles priced at $95.00 and $135.00. The site asks buyers to call to check availability. No shipping or online ordering is mentioned.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
October 12, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.wocoprime.com/, https://www.wocoprime.com/about) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Yates Center