Federally inspected establishment
EST. M51184EST. P51184EST. V51184Bauman's Butcher Block
Doing business as Bauman's Butcher Block
USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Ottawa, Kansas, listed as very small.
2417 Haskell Rd, Ottawa, Kansas 66067 · Franklin County
At a glance
- ·USDA-inspected for meat slaughter, meat processing and poultry processing, as listed in the FSIS directory
- ·Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection
- ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
- ·Reports retail-exempt sales
- ·Very small plant, under 1,000 head slaughtered per year per FSIS volume category
About Bauman's Butcher Block
Bauman's Butcher Block operates at 2417 Haskell Rd in Ottawa, Kansas, in Franklin County, under USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service establishment numbers M51184, P51184 and V51184. The federal record lists the plant for meat processing, meat slaughter, poultry processing and voluntary slaughter of meat, with a grant of inspection date on file of October 13, 2021. FSIS classes the establishment as very small.
Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant falls in FSIS slaughter volume category 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.
No website is on file for this establishment, and directory listings found in search results repeat the address and phone number without adding verified detail. Hours, pricing, booking practice, cut and wrap options and product lists are not yet on file. Buyers and producers should call (785) 242-2254 to confirm current services and availability.
This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.
Services
- Meat slaughter under USDA inspection
- Meat processing
- Poultry processing
- Voluntary slaughter, meat
- Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
- Retail-exempt sales
Species under inspection
Products and retail
Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.
For farmers and ranchers
The federal record lists Bauman's Butcher Block for meat slaughter and meat processing under inspection, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, so a producer may have animals processed for their own use with packages marked Not for Sale. Reported slaughter volume is under 1,000 head per year and FSIS classes the plant as very small, so scheduling capacity is limited. Booking lead times, minimums, kill fees, cut and wrap charges, hanging weight terms and drop-off procedure are not stated in any source on file. Call the plant directly to confirm whether it is taking appointments and for which species.
Bauman's Butcher Block reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which allows sales of meat directly to household customers at the establishment. Whether a retail counter is staffed, what cuts or bundles are stocked, and whether halves, quarters, delivery, shipping or online ordering are offered are not stated in any source on file. Contact the plant at (785) 242-2254 for current retail details.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about Bauman's Butcher Block
What animals does Bauman's Butcher Block slaughter?
Can I buy meat directly from this plant?
Does it do custom processing for farmers?
What are the hours and is the plant taking new customers?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
- Grant on file
- October 13, 2021
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Ottawa
- Anco Poultry Processing19 mi
Garnett · Poultry
- W Diamond M Meats, LLC30 mi
Spring Hill · Hogs · custom-exempt
- Steve's Meat Market36 mi
De Soto · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb, Goats, Bison · custom-exempt
- Bronson Locker LLC45 mi
Bronson · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Farview Farms Meat Company49 mi
Topeka · species not reported · custom-exempt
- Rainbow Organic Farms Co.50 mi
Uniontown · Cattle · custom-exempt