Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M20670EST. P20670EST. V20670

Steve's Meat Market

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant and retail meat market in De Soto, Kansas.

32685 Lexington, De Soto, Kansas 66018 · Johnson County

stevesmeat.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptHalalKosher

At a glance

  • ·Reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, goats and bison to FSIS.
  • ·Both halal and kosher slaughter are reported in the federal record.
  • ·Handles custom-exempt work on customer-owned animals as well as inspected product for sale.
  • ·Voluntary poultry slaughter is listed among FSIS activities.
  • ·FSIS size class Very Small; slaughter volume category 2.0.

About Steve's Meat Market

Steve's Meat Market operates in De Soto, Kansas, in western Johnson County, under establishment numbers M20670, P20670 and V20670. The plant reports meat processing, meat slaughter, and voluntary processing and slaughter activities to FSIS, including voluntary poultry slaughter. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, goats and bison. FSIS lists the establishment as Very Small, with a grant of inspection date on file of June 17, 2020, and a slaughter volume category of 2.0.

The federal record also shows custom-exempt slaughter, meaning animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, along with retail-exempt sales. Both halal and kosher slaughter are reported to FSIS. That combination means the same site can handle inspected work intended for resale, customer-owned animals for personal use, and religious slaughter requests.

The website on file, stevesmeat.com, describes the business as a locally owned meat market and custom butcher shop serving the greater Kansas City metropolitan area along with Lawrence and Topeka, and lists a shop section. A regional travel listing states the business has served De Soto and western Johnson County for over 40 years. The site page fetched for this record returned mostly style code rather than readable content, so pricing, scheduling, cut sheet details and hours beyond the federal record are not yet on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Voluntary processing and voluntary slaughter, meat
  • Voluntary poultry slaughter
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing of customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Halal slaughter
  • Kosher slaughter
  • Custom butchery
  • Retail meat market

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullscalveshogssowsroaster pigslambsgoatsbison

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Lamb
  • Goat
  • Bison

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both federally inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, so animals can be handled either for resale or for the owner's own use with packages marked Not for Sale. Species reported to FSIS include cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, goats and bison, and halal and kosher slaughter are both reported. FSIS classes the establishment as Very Small with a slaughter volume category of 2.0. Booking lead times, minimums, hanging weight charges, cut and wrap fees, and drop-off procedures are not stated in the sources on file, so producers should call (913) 583-1390 to confirm current availability and terms.

Steve's Meat Market reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The business describes itself as a locally owned meat market and custom butcher shop serving the greater Kansas City metropolitan area, Lawrence and Topeka, and its website includes a shop section. Retail-exempt sales are reported in the federal record. A third-party review page mentions beef, bison and frozen lamb among the selection. Specific bundles, half or quarter animal sales, delivery, shipping and online ordering details are not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Steve's Meat Market

Can a farmer bring animals here for processing?
The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing and custom-exempt slaughter, so both inspected and customer-owned animal work are reported. The sources do not state current scheduling availability, minimums or fees, and this record does not claim the plant is accepting work. Call (913) 583-1390 to confirm.
Which species are slaughtered under inspection?
Cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, goats and bison are reported to FSIS. Voluntary poultry slaughter is also listed among the establishment's FSIS activities.
Is halal or kosher slaughter available?
Both halal slaughter and kosher slaughter are reported to FSIS for this establishment. Details on certifying bodies, scheduled days or specific supervision are not stated in the sources on file.
Is there a retail counter, and what are the hours?
The business describes itself as a meat market and custom butcher shop, and retail-exempt sales are reported in the federal record. Hours are not stated in the sources on file.
Does it ship or deliver?
The website includes a shop section, but shipping, delivery and online ordering terms are not stated in the material on file.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Poultry
Grant on file
June 17, 2020
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Small volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://stevesmeat.com/, https://stevesmeat.com/shop/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near De Soto