Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M44934EST. P44934EST. V44934

Bronson Locker LLC

USDA-inspected locker plant in Bronson, Kansas, slaughtering cattle, hogs and sheep and making smoked and specialty meats.

504 Clay Street, Bronson, Kansas 66716 · Bourbon County

bronsonlockerest1966.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for meat slaughter, meat processing and poultry processing, as listed by FSIS
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, as reported to FSIS
  • ·Also reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales
  • ·Very small establishment with reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year
  • ·Website reports continuous family operation since 1966 and in-house smoking and curing

About Bronson Locker LLC

Bronson Locker LLC operates at 504 Clay Street in Bronson, Kansas, in Bourbon County. The plant holds federal establishment numbers M44934, P44934 and V44934, with a grant of inspection date on file of October 7, 2021. FSIS lists activities including meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry processing, food inspection, meat identification, technical animal fats, and voluntary slaughter and processing of meat. FSIS classes the establishment as very small and places its slaughter volume in category 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb.

The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it will process animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it also reports retail-exempt sales. The establishment website describes the business as operating since 1966 and as family owned and operated, four generations strong, located just off Highway 54. The site credits Chub and Helen Bolling with founding the locker and with the decision to move the family business to federal inspection.

The website states that custom butchering and handcrafted smoked and specialty meats are made in-house. Details beyond the federal record and the website text, including prices, booking lead times, cut and wrap fees, bundle offerings, and delivery or shipping, are not yet on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing of customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing of meat
  • Custom butchering
  • Smoking and curing
  • Technical animal fats

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Smoked meats
  • Specialty meats
  • Cured meats

Hours as listed

Mon 08:00 am to 05:00 pm; Tue 08:00 am to 06:00 pm; Wed 08:00 am to 03:00 pm; Thu 08:00 am to 05:00 pm; Fri 08:00 am to 06:00 pm; Sat closed; Sun closed

For farmers and ranchers

The establishment reports both federally inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, so animals may be brought in either for inspected processing or for custom work returned to the owner in packages marked Not for Sale. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. FSIS places annual slaughter volume under 1,000 head, so scheduling capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, drop-off arrangements, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should contact the plant at (620) 939-4575 to confirm current availability.

Bronson Locker LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, and its website invites customers to visit in person during normal business hours, so meat is available directly at the location. The website says every cut, cure and smoked item is made in-house and mentions handcrafted smoked and specialty meats. The sources do not state whether halves, quarters, bundles, online ordering, delivery or shipping are offered.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Bronson Locker LLC

Can I bring my own animal for processing?
Yes. The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns packages marked Not for Sale. It also holds federal inspection for slaughter, so inspected processing is available as listed. Booking details and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
What species are slaughtered here?
Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, according to what the plant reports to FSIS. FSIS also lists poultry processing activity at the establishment, though poultry slaughter is not among the reported slaughter species.
Can households buy meat directly?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales, and its website invites customers to visit during normal business hours. Whether halves, quarters, bundles, delivery or shipping are offered is not stated in the sources.
Is the plant USDA inspected?
Yes. It appears in the USDA FSIS directory as Bronson Locker LLC with establishment numbers M44934, P44934 and V44934, with a grant of inspection date on file of October 7, 2021, and is classed as very small.

Federal record

Activities
Food Inspection; Identification - Meat; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Technical Animal Fats; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
October 7, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://bronsonlockerest1966.com/, https://www.chamberofcommerce.com/united-states/kansas/bronson/meat-products/2185796-bronson-locker) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Bronson