Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47735

Burnett Meats

Family owned USDA-inspected slaughter and custom butcher shop in Melber, Kentucky, with a retail counter.

1580 Penny Corner Rd, Melber, Kentucky 42069 · Graves County

burnettmeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Listed with FSIS for both meat slaughter and meat processing; cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·Very Small size class, under 1,000 head slaughtered per year per FSIS volume category.
  • ·Both USDA-inspected and custom-exempt (Not for Sale) work reported, plus retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Website states a guaranteed minimum seven day hang time on beef, with longer options available.
  • ·Retail counter, deer processing, taxidermy, and bulk or wholesale meat listed as additional services.

About Burnett Meats

Burnett Meats operates at 1580 Penny Corner Rd in Melber, Graves County, Kentucky, under USDA establishment number M47735. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of December 6, 2024, and a size class of Very Small. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and it also reports retail-exempt sales. Its FSIS slaughter volume category is 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year.

The website describes a family owned business offering both custom and USDA butchering services. According to the site, most of the year is spent slaughtering beef, pig, and lamb for local farmers to be custom cut to specification. Animals are typically delivered around 7 on Monday mornings and slaughtered that day. The shop states a guaranteed minimum seven day hang time on beef, with other species often cut the week of slaughter, and longer hang times available on request. Cuts are vacuum sealed, ground meat is stuffed into chubs, and finished orders are boxed in cardboard meat trays and boxes for pickup. A tag number and notes system is used to keep each animal's order separate. Private labeling is offered, described as popular for USDA inspected product intended for resale and sometimes used on Not For Sale product as well.

Alongside slaughter and custom cutting, the site lists a retail store at the shop, wholesale and bulk meat, deer processing, and taxidermy. The retail page states that every cut sold, including ground beef, comes from beef sourced in western Kentucky, with the shop buying the animals and carrying out the whole process on site. Details beyond what appears on the website and in the federal record are not on file here.

Services

  • USDA-inspected slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and butchering (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Custom cutting to customer specification
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Retail meat counter
  • Wholesale and bulk meat
  • Deer processing
  • Taxidermy
  • Vacuum sealed packaging and ground meat chubs
  • Private label setup
  • Preformed patties and other value added services
  • Extended hang time options on beef

Species under inspection

steersheifersbullshogssowssheep

Products and retail

  • Beef steaks
  • Ribeye steaks
  • Chuck roasts
  • Ground beef
  • Chuck rolls
  • Pork sausage in mild, medium, and hot, 1 lb tube
  • Hamburger patties

Hours as listed

Mon 08:00 am to 05:00 pm; Tue 08:00 am to 05:00 pm; Wed 08:00 am to 05:00 pm; Thu Closed; Fri Closed; Sat Closed; Sun Closed. Closed from 12pm to 1pm for lunch each day.

For farmers and ranchers

The website states that most of the year is spent slaughtering beef, pig, and lamb for local farmers, cut to their specifications. Animals are typically delivered around 7 on Monday morning and slaughtered that day. Beef carries a guaranteed minimum seven day hang time, with longer hang times available if preferred, while other species are often cut the week of slaughter. Each beef is tracked with notes and a designated tag number so the order stays with the correct animal. Cuts are vacuum sealed, ground meat is stuffed into chubs, and everything is boxed in cardboard meat trays and boxes for loading. Beef, pork, and lamb cut sheets are posted for download. Private labeling is offered for producers who submit a logo, described as especially popular on USDA inspected product for resale. Booking procedures, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources. The plant reports both USDA-inspected and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, so producers should confirm which applies to their animals.

Burnett Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

A retail store operates at the shop in Melber. The website states that every cut sold, including ground beef, is made from beef sourced in western Kentucky, with the animals bought and processed on site. Listed retail items include common cuts such as ribeye steaks and chuck roasts, plus house-made pork sausage stocked in mild, medium, and hot in 1 lb tubes. Bulk meat needs, including sausage, hamburger patties, and chuck rolls, are handled by phone. Halves and quarters, delivery, shipping, and online ordering are not mentioned in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Burnett Meats

What species does Burnett Meats slaughter?
Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb are reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection. The website also lists deer processing, which is separate from federally inspected livestock slaughter.
Can a farmer have an animal processed for personal use?
Yes, as listed. The federal record shows the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns packages marked Not for Sale.
When are animals dropped off?
The website states animals are typically delivered around 7 each Monday morning and slaughtered that day. Booking steps, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources.
Can households buy meat directly?
The website describes a retail store at the shop selling beef cuts, ground beef, and in-house pork sausage from beef sourced in western Kentucky. Shipping, delivery, and online ordering are not mentioned.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
December 6, 2024
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://burnettmeats.com/, https://burnettmeats.com/custom-butchering) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Melber