Federally inspected establishment
EST. M2317Cave Springs Meats, LLC
USDA-inspected slaughter and meat processing plant in Smithland, Kentucky.
849 Cave Springs Rd, Smithland, Kentucky 42081 · Livingston County
At a glance
- ·Listed with FSIS for both meat slaughter and meat processing under establishment number M2317.
- ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, as reported to FSIS.
- ·Very small plant, with reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
- ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
- ·No website on file; details beyond the federal record have not been verified.
About Cave Springs Meats, LLC
Cave Springs Meats, LLC is a USDA-inspected establishment at 849 Cave Springs Rd in Smithland, Kentucky, in Livingston County. It operates under establishment number M2317 and is listed with the Food Safety and Inspection Service for both meat slaughter and meat processing. FSIS classifies the plant as very small, and its reported slaughter volume falls in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year.
The federal record lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as the species slaughtered under inspection. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it handles animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales, a category that covers direct sales of meat to household buyers. The grant of inspection date on file is August 14, 2026.
No website is on file for this establishment, and no verified hours, pricing, booking policy, or product list has been collected. Details beyond the federal record are not yet on file. Buyers and producers should call (270) 988-3232 to confirm current services and availability.
This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.
Services
- USDA-inspected meat slaughter
- USDA-inspected meat processing
- Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals
- Retail-exempt sales
Species under inspection
Products and retail
Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.
For farmers and ranchers
The federal record lists Cave Springs Meats as performing both slaughter and processing under USDA inspection, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, so a producer can have animals they or their customers own killed and processed with packages marked Not for Sale. FSIS places the plant in the very small size class with an annual slaughter volume under 1,000 head, so scheduling capacity is limited relative to larger plants. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill fees, hanging weight pricing, and cut and wrap options are not stated in any source on file and would need to be confirmed by phone.
Cave Springs Meats, LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, a category that allows direct sales of meat to household customers. Nothing on file describes a retail counter, hours, product selection, bundles, halves and quarters, delivery, or online ordering. Households interested in buying should contact the plant directly at (270) 988-3232. Buyers pursuing a quarter, half, or whole animal typically arrange the purchase with a farmer and have the animal processed at a plant like this one.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about Cave Springs Meats, LLC
What species does Cave Springs Meats slaughter?
Can a farmer bring an animal here for custom processing?
Can households buy meat directly from the plant?
What are the hours?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
- Grant on file
- August 14, 2026
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Smithland
- Starnes Wholesale LLC25 mi
Paducah · species not reported
- Palmer Farms Meats36 mi
Benton · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb, Bison · custom-exempt
- Burnett Meats37 mi
Melber · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Pilgrim's Pride Corporation40 mi
Hickory · Poultry
- Tyson Foods, Inc.52 mi
Robards · Poultry
- Beef and Bacon53 mi
Calhoun · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt