Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M1763

Harv's Butcher Shop

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant with a retail counter in Lancaster, Kentucky.

95 White Oak Rd, Lancaster, Kentucky 40444 · Lincoln County

harvsbutchershop.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Both slaughter and processing under federal inspection, plus custom-exempt work for customer-owned animals.
  • ·Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection; FSIS volume category is under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Beef aged 7 to 28 days, recorded take-home weight, choice of ground fat percentage, and custom labeling, per the website.
  • ·Retail counter listed as open Wednesday through Friday, 11am to 5pm, with priced beef, hog, and lamb shares sold online.
  • ·Phone and county differ between sources: FSIS lists (513) 518-7863 and Lincoln County; the website lists 859-304-1479 and a search listing says Garrard County.

About Harv's Butcher Shop

Harv's Butcher Shop operates under USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service establishment number M1763 at 95 White Oak Rd, Lancaster, Kentucky. The federal record lists the plant for Meat Processing and Meat Slaughter, classes it as Very Small, and shows a grant of inspection date of July 11, 2024. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packaged marked Not for Sale, and it also reports retail-exempt sales. Its FSIS slaughter volume category is 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year.

The shop's website describes itself as a USDA processing facility and specialty butcher shop that partners with Kentucky farmers to harvest and fabricate beef, pork, and lamb in house. Listed processing practices include humane slaughtering, beef aging from 7 up to 28 days, recorded take-home weight, choice of fat percentage on ground product, and custom labeling. Cut sheets are offered for beef, pork, and lamb, and the lamb page also mentions goat processing. Three beef processing packages are described as Bronze, Silver, and Gold, each combining roasts, steaks, and ground beef with differing levels of aging and customization.

Two details differ between sources. The federal record lists the phone number as (513) 518-7863, while the shop's contact page lists 859-304-1479. FSIS places the establishment in Lincoln County; a search listing describes the shop as being in Garrard County. Ownership structure, founding year, and staffing are not stated in the material on file.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Beef, pork, and lamb harvesting and fabrication
  • Whole animal butchery and breakdown into primal and subprimal cuts
  • Dry aging of beef, 7 to 28 days
  • Custom labeling
  • Retail meat counter
  • Farmers market sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogslambs

Products and retail

  • Beef, pork, and lamb cuts
  • Hand-cut steaks, including ribeye and dry-aged steaks
  • Roasts
  • Ground beef with choice of fat percentage
  • Pork chops and ribs, including St. Louis ribs
  • Bacon
  • Sausages and brats
  • Deli meats, including mortadella
  • Jerky
  • Beef tallow and beef fat
  • Half Beef Share, Quarter Beef Share, Half Hog Share, Whole Lamb
  • Bacon Lovers Bundle, Butcher's Choice Box, Griller's Box, Ground Beef Bundle

Hours as listed

Retail hours: Wednesday to Friday, 11am to 5pm, as stated on the website.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both USDA-inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, so animals can be processed for resale under inspection or for the owner's own use with packages marked Not for Sale. Species reported for slaughter under inspection are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb; the website's lamb processing page also references goat. Processing appointments are requested through the contact page or by phone. The website states beef is aged from 7 up to 28 days, take-home weight is recorded, customers choose ground fat percentage, and custom labeling is available. Downloadable cut sheets are offered for beef, pork, and lamb, and beef processing is organized into Bronze, Silver, and Gold packages. Scheduling lead times, kill day schedules, minimums, and processing fees are not stated in the sources on file. As listed, FSIS places the plant in the smallest slaughter volume category, under 1,000 head per year.

Harv's Butcher Shop reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The shop operates a retail counter at 95 White Oak Rd in Lancaster, described on the website as open Wednesday through Friday, 11am to 5pm. The case is described as carrying fresh beef, pork, and lamb, hand-cut steaks, roasts, ground beef, pork chops, ribs, and specialty cuts, along with house-made deli meats and bacon. Bulk purchases listed online include a Half Beef Share at $2,400, Quarter Beef Share at $1,200, Half Hog Share at $600, and Whole Lamb at $390, plus $300 bundles: Bacon Lovers Bundle, Butcher's Choice Box, Griller's Box, and Ground Beef Bundle. Shares are described as processed into retail-style, ready-to-cook packages. The shop also states it sells at the Boyle County Farmers Market in Danville, Kentucky. Delivery and shipping are not mentioned in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Harv's Butcher Shop

Can I bring my own animal for processing?
Yes, as listed. The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. The website invites customers to request a processing appointment by phone or through its contact form. Minimums, deposits, and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
What species are slaughtered here?
FSIS records cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection. The website's processing page also references goat processing alongside lamb.
Can households buy meat directly?
The website describes a retail counter at 95 White Oak Rd in Lancaster, listed as open Wednesday through Friday from 11am to 5pm, and lists shares and bundles for sale online, including a Half Beef Share at $2,400, Quarter Beef Share at $1,200, Half Hog Share at $600, Whole Lamb at $390, and several $300 boxes. The shop also states it attends the Boyle County Farmers Market in Danville. Shipping and delivery are not mentioned.
Which phone number should I use?
The sources disagree. The FSIS directory lists (513) 518-7863, while the shop's contact page lists 859-304-1479. Either may be current; the sources on file do not resolve the difference.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
July 11, 2024
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://harvsbutchershop.com/, https://harvsbutchershop.com/processing/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Lancaster