Federally inspected establishment
EST. M2785Markwell Beef
Doing business as Markwell Beef Processing
Family-run beef slaughter and processing plant in Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, with retail beef products.
1389 Bruner Rd, Lawrenceburg, Kentucky 40342 · Anderson County
At a glance
- ·FSIS establishment M2785, listed for both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing, size class Very Small.
- ·Grant of inspection date on file is December 15, 2025.
- ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals, with packages marked Not for Sale.
- ·Online shop lists jerky, snack sticks, summer sausage, and pork breakfast sausage, plus whole or half beef.
- ·Species detail is not reported to FSIS, and hours are not stated in the sources on file.
About Markwell Beef
Markwell Beef, doing business as Markwell Beef Processing, is a USDA-inspected establishment at 1389 Bruner Rd in Lawrenceburg, Anderson County, Kentucky. It holds establishment number M2785 and reports both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing activities to FSIS, with a grant of inspection date on file of December 15, 2025. FSIS classifies the plant as Very Small. Species detail is not reported to FSIS. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.
The company website describes a family owned and operated business with a legacy in the grocery and butcher industry, and says generations of butchers have produced hand me down recipes still used today. The site states that all products are made in house with local products. A secondary listing describes Markwell's Beef as a full-service custom beef processing operation including hand cut work.
Retail offerings listed on the website include beef jerky, beef snack sticks, summer sausage, and pork country breakfast sausage, sold under the 2 Skinny Guys label along with a Pork Country Breakfast Sausage. The shop pages also point to whole or half beef with a selection of beef cuts, noting options such as steaks sliced to 1 1/2 inch thickness, bone-in or bone-out, and roasts around 3 pounds. Hours, booking procedures, kill dates, and processing fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Services
- Meat slaughter
- Meat processing
- Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals
- Retail-exempt sales
- Whole or half beef processing with cut selection
- Online ordering of packaged products
Products and retail
- 2 Skinny Guys Teriyaki Beef Jerky
- 2 Skinny Guys Smokehouse Beef Jerky
- 2 Skinny Guys Steakhouse Beef Jerky
- 2 Skinny Guys Beef Snack Sticks
- 2 Skinny Guys Beef Summer Sausage (1.5 lb)
- 2 Skinny Guys Beef Summer Sausage With Cheese (1.5 lb)
- 2 Skinny Guys Hot Jalapeno Beef Summer Sausage With Cheese (1.5 lb)
- Pork Country Breakfast Sausage
- Whole or half beef
- Steaks, bone-in or bone-out
- Roasts
For farmers and ranchers
The establishment reports both slaughter and processing to FSIS and also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which the animal remains the property of the customer and the returned packages are marked Not for Sale. A secondary listing describes the operation as full-service custom beef processing with hand cut work. Booking lead times, scheduling procedures, minimums, kill days, hanging weight pricing, and cut and wrap fees are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should contact the plant at (502) 839-8259 or markwellsbeef@gmail.com to confirm species accepted, availability, and terms, since species detail is not reported to FSIS.
Markwell Beef reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The website operates an online shop with a cart, listing beef jerky, beef snack sticks, summer sausage, and pork country breakfast sausage. Posted price ranges on the home page include jerky at $10 to $20, beef snack sticks at $7 to $15, and beef summer sausage at $15.50 to $17.50. The shop also advertises whole or half beef with a wide selection of cuts, including steaks sliced to 1 1/2 inch thickness, bone-in or bone-out, and roasts of about 3 pounds. The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Storefront hours, delivery, and shipping details are not stated in the sources on file.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about Markwell Beef
Does Markwell Beef slaughter animals or only cut and wrap?
What species does the plant handle?
Can a household buy meat directly?
What does custom processing cost and how far ahead should a farmer book?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
- Grant on file
- December 15, 2025
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very Small establishment (FSIS size class)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.markwellbeef.com/, https://www.markwellbeef.com/shop) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Lawrenceburg
- Lorenz and Hammond, LLC dba Oxbow Meats9 mi
Lawrenceburg · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb, Bison · custom-exempt
- Spencer County Butcher Block17 mi
Taylorsville · Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- F.B. Purnell Sausage Company Inc.23 mi
Simpsonville · Hogs
- Boone's Abattoir, Inc.26 mi
Bardstown · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Marksbury Farm Foods, LLC29 mi
Lancaster · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb
- University of Kentucky - Animal Science Meat Laboratory29 mi
Lexington · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt