Federally inspected establishment
EST. M44779Spencer County Butcher Block
USDA-inspected lamb slaughter and meat processing plant in Taylorsville, Kentucky, with halal slaughter reported.
226 Taylorsville Rd, Taylorsville, Kentucky 40071 · Spencer County
At a glance
- ·Federally inspected under establishment number M44779, grant date March 2, 2022.
- ·Sheep and lamb are the only species reported slaughtered under inspection.
- ·Reports halal slaughter, custom-exempt slaughter, and retail-exempt sales.
- ·FSIS size class Very Small, with reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
- ·The website on file is a Facebook page under the name Taylorsville Butcher Block; no site text was available.
About Spencer County Butcher Block
Spencer County Butcher Block, establishment number M44779, operates at 226 Taylorsville Rd in Taylorsville, Kentucky, in Spencer County. The federal record lists the plant under both Meat Processing and Meat Slaughter activities, with a grant of inspection dated March 2, 2022. FSIS classifies it as a very small establishment, and its reported slaughter volume falls in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year.
The only species the plant reports slaughtering under federal inspection is sheep and lamb. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales. Halal slaughter is reported to FSIS.
The website on file is a Facebook page listed under the name Taylorsville Butcher Block, and no website text was available for this record. A directory listing describes the business as a family-owned, small-town butcher shop offering custom and USDA processing, including halal. One third party listing gives the address as 246 Taylorsville Rd rather than the 226 Taylorsville Rd on the federal record. Beyond the federal record and those brief secondary mentions, details such as pricing, booking practices, cut and wrap options, and hours are not yet on file.
This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.
Services
- USDA-inspected meat slaughter
- USDA-inspected meat processing
- Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
- Halal slaughter
- Retail-exempt sales
Species under inspection
Products and retail
Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.
For farmers and ranchers
The plant reports both federally inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, so animals owned by a producer can be processed for the owner's own use with packages marked Not for Sale. The only species reported slaughtered under inspection is sheep and lamb, and reported slaughter volume is under 1,000 head per year, consistent with a very small establishment. Halal slaughter is reported. Booking lead times, minimums, kill day scheduling, hanging fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file, so producers should contact the plant directly to confirm current practice and whether other species are handled.
Spencer County Butcher Block reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which generally indicates sales directly to household customers at the establishment, and a third party directory describes it as a small-town butcher shop. No product list, bundle or half and quarter offerings, delivery, shipping, or online ordering information appears in the sources on file. Households should contact the business to confirm what is available for purchase.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about Spencer County Butcher Block
What animals does this plant slaughter?
Can a farmer bring an animal for their own freezer?
Is halal slaughter available?
Can households buy meat directly?
Which address is correct?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
- Grant on file
- March 2, 2022
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Taylorsville
- F.B. Purnell Sausage Company Inc.13 mi
Simpsonville · Hogs
- Markwell Beef17 mi
Lawrenceburg · species not reported · custom-exempt
- Boone's Abattoir, Inc.17 mi
Bardstown · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Lorenz and Hammond, LLC dba Oxbow Meats26 mi
Lawrenceburg · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb, Bison · custom-exempt
- Swift Pork Company26 mi
Louisville · Hogs
- Trackside Butcher Shoppe35 mi
Campbellsburg · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb, Goats · custom-exempt