Federally inspected establishment
EST. M45607Trackside Butcher Shoppe
USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Campbellsburg, Kentucky, offering both inspected and custom work.
123 Commerce Parkway, Campbellsburg, Kentucky 40011 · Henry County
At a glance
- ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats under federal inspection, as reported to FSIS.
- ·Offers both USDA-inspected and custom-exempt processing, with separate published price lists for each.
- ·Minimum hang weight of 500 pounds for beef and 150 pounds for hogs; lighter carcasses are billed at the minimum.
- ·Site says the shop stopped processing deer as of 2021 and that cuts cannot be transferred between customers.
- ·Located 2.1 miles from I-71 Campbellsburg Exit 34, per the shop's location page.
About Trackside Butcher Shoppe
Trackside Butcher Shoppe operates at 123 Commerce Parkway, Campbellsburg, Kentucky, in Henry County, under USDA establishment number M45607. The federal record lists the plant for both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of April 19, 2022. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats. FSIS classes the plant as Very Small and places its slaughter volume in the under 1,000 head per year category. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are returned in packages marked Not for Sale, retail-exempt sales, and halal slaughter.
The shop's website describes three co-owners and managers, Chris Wright, Jason Wright, and John Edwards, who grew up on their grandfathers' farms, graduated from Trimble County High School in 1998, and worked together at AT&T. The site states that a 2013 feasibility study by the Kentucky Center for Agricultural and Rural Development identified a need for a meat processing facility in the area, and that the shop became a reality roughly two years later. A site page notes the location is 2.1 miles from the I-71 Campbellsburg Exit 34.
Published pricing covers kill fees, hang weight processing fees, and add-on charges for patties, curing and smoking, ham slicing, splitting, waste removal, separate grinds, and single-packed steaks and chops. A posted notice states that processing prices rise on April 30, 2026, to $0.91 per pound USDA and $0.86 custom for beef, and $1.00 USDA and $0.95 custom for hogs, with no change for lamb and goat. Another notice states that as of 2021 the shop no longer processes deer. Hours of operation are not stated in the sources on file.
Services
- USDA-inspected slaughter
- USDA-inspected meat processing
- Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
- Halal slaughter (as reported to FSIS)
- Retail-exempt sales
- Cut and wrap with vacuum sealing
- Curing and smoking
- Sausage and brat making
- Ground beef patties
- Ham slicing
- Half and quarter splitting
- Separate grind service
- Single-packed steaks and chops
- Online, Word, and PDF cut sheets for beef, hog, lamb, and goat
Species under inspection
Products and retail
- Smoked ham
- Bacon
- Jowl
- Picnic ham
- Hocks
- Italian brats (spicy, mild, or sweet)
- Regular brat
- Chorizo brat
- Swiss brat
- Mango habanero brat
- Cheddar jalapeno brat
- Pineapple teriyaki brat
- Cheddar brat
- Jalapeno brat
- Blueberry sausage
- Sausage links
- Ground beef patties
- Quarter beef
For farmers and ranchers
The plant reports both USDA-inspected and custom-exempt slaughter and processing for cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats. Its pricing page explains that custom processing applies when the animal is for the owner or is sold by the whole, half, or quarter, while USDA processing is needed to sell by the cut or pound, such as at a farmers market. Posted kill fees are $45 custom and $60 USDA for cattle and for hogs, and $135 custom or $160 USDA flat rate for lamb and goat, which the site says includes processing. Processing fees on hang weight with vacuum seal are $0.86 per pound custom and $0.91 USDA for beef, and $0.95 custom and $1.00 USDA for hogs, effective April 30, 2026, per the posted notice. Additional listed charges include split fees, waste removal of $15 per beef and $5 per hog and per lamb or goat, separate grind fees, patties at $0.99 per pound with a 25 pound minimum, cured or smoked product at $1.99 per pound, and a $10 per hog ham slicing fee. Since January 1, 2022, the site states a minimum hang weight of 500 pounds for beef and 150 pounds for hogs, and carcasses under those weights are charged as if they met them. All quarters are cut to a standard style, boneless, bone-in, or grind, and both quarters must match. The site says each animal is individually processed and packaged and that cuts cannot be moved between customers, including organ meat, soup bones, and oxtail. Appointments are made by phone. Deer processing was discontinued as of 2021. Credit card purchases over $100 carry a 3 percent fee.
Trackside Butcher Shoppe reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The federal record shows the establishment reports retail-exempt sales, and the shop's pricing FAQ notes that selling by the whole, half, or quarter falls under custom processing. A quarter beef cut sheet is published on the site so buyers can see what is included with a quarter. Sausage, brat, and smoked product options are priced by the pound. A Local Line online store page appears in search results under the shop's name. Retail counter hours, stocked inventory, delivery, and shipping are not stated in the sources on file.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about Trackside Butcher Shoppe
Can I bring my own animal for custom processing?
What does processing cost?
Is halal slaughter available?
What are the hours, and does the shop sell retail meat?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
- Grant on file
- April 19, 2022
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://tracksidebutchershoppe.com/, https://tracksidebutchershoppe.com/about-us/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Campbellsburg
- F.B. Purnell Sausage Company Inc.23 mi
Simpsonville · Hogs
- Dinos Farm LLC30 mi
Warsaw · Cattle, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Swift Pork Company35 mi
Louisville · Hogs
- Spencer County Butcher Block35 mi
Taylorsville · Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Markwell Beef38 mi
Lawrenceburg · species not reported · custom-exempt
- Lorenz and Hammond, LLC dba Oxbow Meats43 mi
Lawrenceburg · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb, Bison · custom-exempt