Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M995

Swift Pork Company

Doing business as Armour Food Company; JBS Swift & Co; JBS USA Food Company; Swift & Company; Swift Foods Company; Swift Pork Company; Swift Premium

Large USDA-inspected hog slaughter and pork processing plant in Louisville's Butchertown, operating under the Swift brand.

1200 Story Avenue, Louisville, Kentucky 40206 · Jefferson County

swiftmeats.com

USDA inspected

At a glance

  • ·FSIS establishment M995, listed for meat slaughter and meat processing
  • ·Hogs are the only species slaughtered under inspection
  • ·FSIS size class large, slaughter volume category 4.0
  • ·No custom-exempt activity reported to FSIS
  • ·Swift brand products are distributed through national and regional grocery retailers

About Swift Pork Company

Swift Pork Company operates establishment M995 at 1200 Story Avenue in Louisville, Jefferson County, Kentucky. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with hogs as the only species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the establishment as large and places it in slaughter volume category 4.0, the highest tier reported in the directory. The grant of inspection date on file is October 8, 2021. The establishment is also listed under a number of related names, including Armour Food Company, JBS Swift & Co, JBS USA Food Company, Swift & Company, Swift Foods Company and Swift Premium.

The brand website at swiftmeats.com is a consumer marketing site for Swift branded meats and carries a JBS copyright notice. It presents recipes and a store locator rather than plant level information, and it uses the line Quality Since 1855 with reference to founder Gustavus Swift. The store locator directs shoppers to retail chains that carry Swift products, among them Costco, Kroger, Food Lion, HEB, Stop & Shop, Weis Markets, Raley's, Stater Bros, WinCo, Shaw's and Star Market, BJ's, Hannaford, Bashas', Brookshire Brothers, Lowe's Market, FoodMaxx, Rouses and Cardenas. The site does not state whether products sold under the brand come from this particular Louisville plant.

No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS for this establishment, and the sources on file describe no on site retail counter, no direct sales to households and no producer drop off program. A secondary directory listing describes the company as providing slaughter and processing services in Louisville serving producers in the region, but that claim is not confirmed by the federal record or the company website. A news snippet from August 2026 reports that the Butchertown slaughterhouse has drawn hundreds of odor complaints without penalties. Details beyond the federal record and the brand website are not yet on file.

Services

  • Hog slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection

Species under inspection

hogs

Products and retail

  • Pork tenderloin
  • Boneless pork loin
  • Pork chops
  • Bacon
  • Beef top sirloin steak
  • Bone in beef back ribs

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists Swift Pork Company as a large volume hog slaughter and processing establishment, with hogs the only species slaughtered under inspection and no custom-exempt activity reported. That means no custom kill or cut and wrap for an individual owner's own use is on file here. A secondary directory listing states the company provides slaughter and processing services to producers in the area, but booking procedures, scheduling windows, minimum head counts, live weight requirements and fees are not stated in any source on file. Producers would need to contact the plant at (502) 582-0011 to learn whether it takes outside livestock and on what terms, as listed.

Swift Pork Company operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

For households

Swift branded pork and beef are sold through grocery retailers rather than from the plant. The brand store locator lists chains including Costco, Kroger, Food Lion, HEB, Stop & Shop, Weis Markets, Raley's, Stater Bros, WinCo, Shaw's and Star Market, BJ's, Hannaford, Bashas', Brookshire Brothers, Lowe's Market, FoodMaxx, Rouses and Cardenas. No retail store at the Louisville plant, no halves or quarters, no bundles, no shipping and no online ordering are described in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Swift Pork Company

Does this plant do custom processing for farmers?
No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS for establishment M995. A secondary directory describes slaughter and processing services for producers, but the plant's own materials do not confirm this. Terms, minimums and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Can I buy meat at the plant?
Nothing in the sources describes a retail counter, freezer sales, halves or quarters, or shipping from the Louisville site. The Swift brand website points shoppers to grocery retailers through a store locator.
What animals are handled here?
The federal record lists hogs as the species slaughtered under inspection. The brand website markets both pork and beef items, but the beef is not tied to this establishment in any source on file.
Who owns the plant?
The establishment is listed to FSIS under names including JBS Swift & Co and JBS USA Food Company, and the Swift brand website carries a JBS copyright notice.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
October 8, 2021
Size class
Large
Slaughter volume
Large volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/fsis-inspected-establishments/swift-pork-company-2, https://swiftmeats.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Louisville