Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M1749

Coastal Plains Meat Company

USDA-inspected beef slaughter and processing plant in Eunice, Louisiana, selling Louisiana-sourced beef.

1044 HWY 91, Eunice, Louisiana 70535 · St. Landry Parish

coastalplainsmeatcompany.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·FSIS establishment M1749, listed for both meat slaughter and meat processing
  • ·Species slaughtered under inspection: cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb
  • ·Small plant, FSIS slaughter volume category under 1,000 head per year; grant of inspection dated June 12, 2025
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales
  • ·Website describes Louisiana-sourced beef sold to grocery, restaurant, and retail partners, plus a Build a Box option

About Coastal Plains Meat Company

Coastal Plains Meat Company operates at 1044 HWY 91 in Eunice, Louisiana, in St. Landry Parish, under USDA FSIS establishment number M1749. The federal record lists both meat slaughter and meat processing activities, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the plant as small, with a slaughter volume category of 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The grant of inspection date on file is June 12, 2025. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The company website focuses on beef. It describes sourcing cattle from Louisiana farmers and selling beef to restaurant, grocery, and retail partners, with the stated aim that local cattlemen no longer have to send cattle out of state for processing. The site describes grazing on well-managed pastures and rangeland in a low stress environment, and says the plant uses technology intended to support humane handling of cattle. One page states that cattle are selected from across the nation in support of cattlemen in various states, while the beef page emphasizes Louisiana farms, so the sourcing description is not uniform across the site.

The website says the company was started by founders who served in the U.S. Army and U.S. Marine Corps and that it runs an ongoing program of veteran and transitioning military mentorship in the Louisiana cattle industry. A "Build a Box" feature and a locations page are referenced on the site. Hours, pricing, booking procedures, and custom cut and wrap details are not stated in the material on file.

Services

  • Beef slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Wholesale supply to restaurant, grocery, and retail partners

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Ribeye
  • Strip
  • Ground beef
  • Tri-tip
  • Brisket
  • Prime rib
  • Beef ribs
  • Flank steak

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists Coastal Plains Meat Company as a slaughter and processing establishment handling cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, and it reports custom-exempt slaughter, so animals owned by a customer can be processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale. FSIS places annual slaughter volume under 1,000 head, so capacity is limited. The website states the company works with Louisiana cattle farmers so that local cattlemen do not have to send cattle out of state for processing, and describes a mentorship program for veterans and transitioning military in the Louisiana cattle industry. Booking practices, lead times, minimums, hanging weight fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should call (337) 466-7341 to confirm what species and dates are being scheduled as listed.

Coastal Plains Meat Company reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website presents beef for household buyers, including a "Build a Box" option and a locations page indicating that Coastal Plains products are available in various regions through restaurant, grocery, and retail partners. Named cuts include ribeye, strip, ground beef, tri-tip, brisket, prime rib, beef ribs, and flank steak. The plant also reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Prices, box contents, shipping or delivery terms, and whether an on-site retail counter operates are not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Coastal Plains Meat Company

Does Coastal Plains process animals a farmer brings in?
The federal record shows the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling details, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file. Call (337) 466-7341 to confirm.
What species does the plant slaughter?
FSIS lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection. The company website discusses beef only.
Can a household buy beef directly?
The website advertises a Build a Box option and a locations page showing where Coastal Plains beef is sold, and the plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Whether there is a walk-in retail counter, and any prices or shipping terms, are not stated in the sources on file.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the material on file. A third-party business directory listing claims to show hours, but no hours appear in the fetched sources.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
June 12, 2025
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.coastalplainsmeatcompany.com/, https://www.coastalplainsmeatcompany.com/beef) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Eunice