Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M44985EST. P44985

Bowman's Butcher Shop, LLC

USDA-inspected whole animal butcher shop and slaughter facility in Aberdeen, Maryland, with a retail store.

3452 Churchville Road, Aberdeen, Maryland 21001 · Harford County

bowmansbutchershop.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing; cattle, sheep, and lamb reported as slaughter species.
  • ·Also reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Very small plant, under 1,000 head slaughtered per year per the FSIS volume category.
  • ·Retail store on site with online ordering, scheduled pickup, and $10 home delivery to Harford, Cecil, Baltimore City, and Baltimore County.
  • ·Closed to the public Tuesday and Wednesday to fulfill pre-orders, as listed.

About Bowman's Butcher Shop, LLC

Bowman's Butcher Shop, LLC operates at 3452 Churchville Road in Aberdeen, Harford County, Maryland, under USDA establishment numbers M44985 and P44985. FSIS lists the plant for meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing, with a grant of inspection on file dated August 4, 2021. It is classified as very small, and reports slaughtering cattle, sheep, and lamb under inspection at a volume of under 1,000 head per year. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packaged marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.

The shop's website describes it as Harford County's only whole animal butcher shop, a USDA certified processing facility, and a retail store, and states the business has been dedicated to relationships with local farms for over 75 years. The site lists slaughter appointments as a service alongside retail sales. A Facebook page description refers to the business as a custom processor.

The retail side sells local dry aged beef, 100% grassfed beef, Wagyu beef, veal, local pastured pork, poultry, lamb and goat, exotic meats, seafood, house-made sausage, deli and charcuterie, local dairy and eggs, pet food and treats, local cheese, and local sundries and provisions. Buyers can shop online for pickup at the Aberdeen store, shop in person, or order home delivery. Details beyond what appears here, including custom cut and wrap fees, booking lead times, and hanging weight pricing, are not on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Whole animal butchery
  • Dry aging
  • Slaughter appointments
  • Retail meat counter
  • Online ordering with store pickup
  • Home delivery
  • Gift certificates and gift boxes

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullslambs

Products and retail

  • Local dry aged beef
  • 100% grass-fed beef
  • Wagyu beef
  • Veal
  • Local pastured pork
  • Local poultry
  • Local lamb and goat
  • Exotic meats
  • Seafood
  • House-made sausage
  • Deli and charcuterie
  • Butcher boxes and value bundles
  • Weekly bundles and specials
  • Local cheese
  • Local dairy and eggs
  • Local pet food and treats
  • Local sundries and provisions

Hours as listed

Monday, Thursday, Friday: 11am - 6pm. Saturday: 10am - 5pm. Sunday: 11am - 4pm. Closed to the public Tuesday and Wednesday to fulfill pre-order requests. The site advises checking its Facebook page for early closures or changes.

For farmers and ranchers

The establishment reports both federally inspected slaughter of cattle, sheep, and lamb and custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals, with custom packages marked Not for Sale. FSIS places annual slaughter volume under 1,000 head, so capacity is small. The website has a Slaughter Appointments page, indicating bookings are scheduled in advance, and the shop states it works with local farms. Specific booking lead times, drop-off procedures, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should call (410) 914-5607 to confirm current scheduling.

Bowman's Butcher Shop, LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The Aberdeen store sells retail cuts including hand cut steaks, dry aged beef, pastured pork, poultry, lamb and goat, sausage, deli items, dairy and eggs, and pantry provisions. There are three stated ways to buy: order online and pick up on a scheduled date at the Churchville Road store, shop in person, or order online for home delivery. Delivery is offered to Harford County, Cecil County, Baltimore City, and Baltimore County for a stated $10 fee. Butcher boxes, best value bundles, weekly specials, and gift certificates are also listed. Halves and quarters are not specifically described in the sources, though the website refers to filling a freezer.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Bowman's Butcher Shop, LLC

Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and its website lists a Slaughter Appointments page. Whether appointments are currently being accepted, and any minimums or fees, are not stated in the sources on file. Call (410) 914-5607 to confirm.
What species are slaughtered here?
FSIS records list cattle, sheep, and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection. The establishment is also listed for poultry processing. Hog slaughter is not listed in the federal record, though the shop sells local pastured pork at retail.
Can households buy meat directly?
Yes, as listed. The website describes a retail store at 3452 Churchville Road in Aberdeen, plus online ordering for scheduled pickup and home delivery to Harford, Cecil, Baltimore City, and Baltimore County for a $10 fee.
Does the shop sell halves or quarters for the freezer?
The sources do not state half or quarter beef pricing. The website mentions filling a freezer and lists butcher boxes and best value bundles. Contact the shop for bulk options.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
August 4, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://bowmansbutchershop.com/, https://bowmansbutchershop.com/visit-our-store) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Aberdeen