Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M10835EST. P10835EST. V10835

Sudlersville Frozen Meat Locker

USDA-inspected family butcher shop in Sudlersville, Maryland, with slaughter, processing, and a retail meat case.

204 E MAIN STREET, SUDLERSVILLE, Maryland 21668 · Queen Anne's County

sudlersvillemeats.com

USDA inspectedRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·FSIS-listed for meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing; grant of inspection date on file July 28, 2021.
  • ·Species slaughtered under inspection reported to FSIS: cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb. The website also lists goats.
  • ·Very small plant by FSIS size class, slaughter volume category 2.0.
  • ·Retail meat case Wednesday through Saturday, with online meat packages for scheduled pickup.
  • ·Sister business D & J Custom Cutting in Hartly, Delaware, is described as handling deer and wildlife processing.

About Sudlersville Frozen Meat Locker

Sudlersville Frozen Meat Locker operates at 204 E Main Street in Sudlersville, Queen Anne's County, Maryland, under FSIS establishment numbers M10835, P10835, and V10835. The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry processing, meat identification, and voluntary meat slaughter and processing activities, with a grant of inspection date on file of July 28, 2021. FSIS classifies the plant as very small and places it in slaughter volume category 2.0, above the smallest tier of under 1,000 head per year. Species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The establishment reports retail-exempt sales and no custom-exempt activity.

The business operates publicly as Sudlersville Meat Locker. Its website states the shop was established in 1996 and is family owned by Dwayne and Dawna Nickerson, with a main focus on slaughtering and processing animals under USDA inspection. The site describes USDA-inspected slaughter and processing for hogs, beef, lamb, and goats; the species list reported to FSIS covers cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb rather than goats. Beef sold at the counter is described as raised by local farmers, and pork is described as purchased exclusively from Grand View Farms, owned and operated by the Langenfelder family. A sister business, D & J Custom Cutting in Hartly, Delaware, is described as handling custom deer and wildlife processing.

For households, the site describes a fresh meat case open Wednesday through Saturday, an online shop with bundled packages for pickup, and specialty items including muskrat, rabbit, frozen vegetables, Amish butter, and Amish eggs. Scrapple is presented as the shop's signature product. Weekly in-store specials and an email newsletter are mentioned. Details beyond what is stated above, including slaughter scheduling lead times, kill fees, and cut and wrap pricing, are not on file.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Voluntary meat slaughter and processing
  • Meat identification services
  • Retail meat case
  • Special cut orders using locally sourced meats
  • Online ordering of meat packages for pickup
  • Custom cutting orders cut to customer specifications

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowsroaster pigslambs

Products and retail

  • Scrapple
  • Local beef cuts
  • Pork from Grand View Farms
  • Lamb
  • Goat (per website)
  • Bone-in and boneless pork chops
  • Boneless pork butt
  • Smoked bacon
  • Link and loose sage sausage
  • Pork baby back ribs
  • BBQ pigs
  • Shop hogs
  • Pork Pack, Steak Package, and Assorted Meat Pack bundles
  • Fresh chicken in 40 lb cases, including whole wings, party wings, drumsticks, thighs, leg quarters, boneless skinless breast, oven roasters, chicken fowl, and small BBQ chickens
  • Muskrat
  • Rabbit
  • Frozen vegetables
  • Amish butter and eggs

Hours as listed

The website states the fresh meat case is open Wednesday through Saturday, and elsewhere states "We are open Monday to Friday 9 am to 5 pm, with fresh options Wednesday to Saturday." Order pickup is listed as Monday through Friday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Saturday 8:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m., with Sundays unavailable.

For farmers and ranchers

The website states that the establishment's main focus is slaughtering and processing animals under USDA inspection, and describes USDA-inspected slaughter and processing for hogs, beef, lamb, and goats. The species reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The federal record reports no custom-exempt activity, so work described as custom cutting is presented as being done under inspection. Staff are described as able to help with scheduling a processing appointment by phone at (410) 438-3106. Booking lead times, seasonal availability, head minimums, kill and cut fees, hanging weight terms, and whether smoking or curing is offered to livestock owners are not stated in the sources.

Sudlersville Frozen Meat Locker operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

For households

The shop describes a fresh meat case open Wednesday through Saturday, stocked with locally sourced beef, pork, chicken, and specialty products, plus weekly in-store specials and a newsletter for deals. An online shop lists bundled packages for pickup at 204 E. Main Street, including a Pork Pack at $174.99, a Steak Package at $549.99, an Assorted Meat Pack at $329.99, BBQ pigs starting at $160.00, and shop hogs starting at $300.00. Pickup packages are described as vacuum packed, boxed, and frozen. Pickup requires at least two days of notice, is unavailable Sundays, and is offered Monday through Friday 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. and Saturday 8:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m., with no substitutions. Halves and quarters, delivery, and shipping are not mentioned in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Sudlersville Frozen Meat Locker

Does this plant slaughter under USDA inspection?
Yes, as listed. FSIS records meat slaughter and voluntary meat slaughter activities at establishment M10835, and the website states the main focus is slaughtering and processing animals under USDA inspection.
Which animals can be brought here?
FSIS lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection. The website describes USDA-inspected slaughter and processing for hogs, beef, lamb, and goats. Goats are not part of the species list in the federal record, so confirm by phone.
What does processing cost for a farmer's animal?
Not stated. The sources give retail package prices but no kill fees, cut and wrap rates, or head minimums.
Can a household buy meat directly?
Yes, as described. The website lists a fresh meat case Wednesday through Saturday and an online shop with bundled packages for pickup at the Sudlersville address, with at least two days of notice required. Halves, quarters, delivery, and shipping are not mentioned.

Federal record

Activities
Identification - Meat; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
July 28, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Small volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://sudlersvillemeats.com/, https://sudlersvillemeats.com/about) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near SUDLERSVILLE