Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M3633

Garvin Family Butcher, LLC

USDA-inspected slaughterhouse and butcher shop in Rising Sun, Maryland, handling cattle, hogs, and sheep.

810 Telegraph Road, Rising Sun, Maryland 21911 · Cecil County

Facebook page

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Listed with FSIS for both slaughter and processing, establishment number M3633.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Very small establishment with reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Grant of inspection date on file is March 16, 2026.

About Garvin Family Butcher, LLC

Garvin Family Butcher, LLC operates at 810 Telegraph Road in Rising Sun, Cecil County, Maryland, under USDA FSIS establishment number M3633. The federal record lists the plant for both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of March 16, 2026. FSIS classifies it as a very small establishment, and its reported slaughter volume falls in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year.

Species slaughtered under federal inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales, which covers direct sales of meat to household buyers at the establishment.

The website on file is a Facebook page rather than a full site, and no website text was available for review. Secondary listings describe the operation as a local family owned and operated USDA-inspected slaughterhouse and butcher shop, and one social post referenced a half of majority grass fed local beef from Rising Sun. Local news coverage from February 2025 reported on the planned construction of Garvin Family Butcher and Farmer's Market. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking procedures, and cut and wrap options, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under USDA inspection
  • Meat processing under USDA inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Butcher shop

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowsroaster pigslambs

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Lamb and sheep meat
  • Local beef described as majority grass fed

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists Garvin Family Butcher for slaughter and processing of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection, and the plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, where the animal remains the customer's property and the finished packages are marked Not for Sale. FSIS classifies the plant as very small, with reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should contact the establishment at (667) 215-3703 to confirm species handled and scheduling.

Garvin Family Butcher, LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales and is described in secondary listings as a butcher shop, and a social media post referenced offering a half of majority grass fed local beef from Rising Sun. Bundle offerings, pricing, delivery, shipping, and online ordering are not stated in the sources on file. Local news coverage from February 2025 described a planned Garvin Family Butcher and Farmer's Market at the site.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Garvin Family Butcher, LLC

What animals does Garvin Family Butcher slaughter?
Species reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. Poultry and other species are not listed in the federal record.
Can a farmer bring an animal for custom processing?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Booking details, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Can a household buy meat directly?
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales and is described as a butcher shop. A social media post referenced selling a half of majority grass fed local beef. Retail hours, pricing, and shipping are not stated in the sources on file.
Is the plant open and accepting work?
The sources on file do not state current hours or availability. The federal record lists the establishment with a grant of inspection date of March 16, 2026. Buyers and farmers should call (667) 215-3703 to confirm.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
March 16, 2026
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Rising Sun