Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M3990EST. P3990

B&E Meats

USDA-inspected meat and poultry plant in Crookston, Minnesota, with slaughter, processing, and custom work.

330 3rd Ave SW, Crookston, Minnesota 56716 · Polk County

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federal grant covers meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing under M3990+P3990.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter, so producers can have their own animals processed for personal use.
  • ·Reports retail-exempt sales for direct purchases at the establishment.
  • ·Secondary listings mention beef, pork, poultry, seafood, custom and wild game processing.
  • ·No website is on file; phone numbers differ between the FSIS record and a Yelp listing.

About B&E Meats

B&E Meats operates at 330 3rd Ave SW in Crookston, Polk County, Minnesota, under USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service establishment numbers M3990 and P3990. The federal record lists the plant for meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of August 28, 2026. Species detail is not reported to FSIS, and no size class is reported.

The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns packages marked Not for Sale, and it also reports retail-exempt sales, which covers direct sales to household buyers at the establishment. Search listings associated with the business describe beef, pork, poultry, seafood, custom processing, and wild game processing, and a menu is referenced in third party restaurant listings, suggesting prepared food sales alongside meat sales.

No website is on file with the registry, and no verified website text was available. Beyond the federal record and a small number of secondary listings, details such as booking windows, kill days, fees, cut and wrap options, and species accepted are not yet on file. Contact information also differs between sources: the FSIS record lists (218) 289-0916, while a Yelp listing for the same address shows (218) 281-5213.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Wild game processing (per secondary listings)

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Poultry
  • Seafood
  • Wild game

Hours as listed

Not stated in full. A Yelp listing shows a Monday entry of 9:00 am to 6:00 pm; other days are not shown in the available text.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both meat slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, so animals owned by a producer can be slaughtered and returned in packages marked Not for Sale for the owner's own use. Secondary listings mention beef, pork, poultry, and wild game processing. Species accepted, scheduling lead times, minimums, hanging weight or per head fees, and cut and wrap details are not stated in any source on file, so a producer should confirm these directly with the establishment using the phone number in the federal record.

B&E Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales, and secondary listings describe beef, pork, poultry, and seafood along with a menu of prepared items, indicating over the counter purchasing at the Crookston location. Whether halves and quarters, bundles, delivery, shipping, or online ordering are offered is not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about B&E Meats

Does B&E Meats slaughter animals, or only cut and wrap?
The FSIS record lists meat slaughter as well as meat processing and poultry processing, and the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter. Specific kill days and species accepted are not stated in the sources on file.
Can a household buy meat directly from this plant?
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales, and secondary listings describe beef, pork, poultry, and seafood along with a menu. Product availability at any given time is not stated, and no claim is made here that the counter is currently open.
Is wild game accepted?
A search listing associated with the business names wild game processing. Season limits, drop off procedures, and fees are not stated in any source on file.
What phone number should be used?
The FSIS directory lists (218) 289-0916. A Yelp listing for the same address shows (218) 281-5213. Both are recorded here because the sources disagree.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
August 28, 2026
Size class
Not classified
Slaughter volume
Size not reported

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Crookston