Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M46656

Attala Frozen Foods

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Kosciusko, Mississippi, handling cattle, hogs, and sheep.

515 W Jefferson Street, Kosciusko, Mississippi 39090 · Attala County

Facebook page

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·FSIS establishment M46656, listed for both meat slaughter and meat processing.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Very Small size class with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Grant of inspection date on file is July 25, 2024.

About Attala Frozen Foods

Attala Frozen Foods operates at 515 W Jefferson Street in Kosciusko, Mississippi, in Attala County, under USDA FSIS establishment number M46656. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the establishment as Very Small, and its slaughter volume category is 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The grant of inspection date on file is July 25, 2024.

In addition to federally inspected work, the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns the meat in packages marked Not for Sale. It also reports retail-exempt sales, a category that covers direct sales of meat to household buyers at the establishment.

The website on file is a Facebook page, and no substantive website text is available. A secondary listing from Genuine Mississippi states the business has been in operation for more than 42 years and mentions a person named Archie who began working there as a young man. A December 2025 Facebook post refers to frozen food needs. Beyond these items and the federal record, details such as hours, pricing, booking practices, cut and wrap options, and product lists are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowslambs

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists Attala Frozen Foods for slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, and the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, so animals owned by a farmer can be processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale. The plant is classed Very Small with a slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill day schedules, hanging and aging practices, cut and wrap options, and fees are not stated in any source on file. Farmers should contact the plant at (662) 289-2561 to confirm whether it is taking animals and on what terms.

Attala Frozen Foods reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales, which allows direct sales of meat to household buyers, and a Facebook post refers to frozen food needs. No source on file lists a product selection, counter hours, bundle or half and quarter offerings, delivery, shipping, or online ordering. Households should call (662) 289-2561 to ask what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Attala Frozen Foods

What animals does Attala Frozen Foods slaughter?
The federal record lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection.
Can a farmer bring an animal for custom processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Booking, minimums, and fees are not stated in any source on file. Call (662) 289-2561 to confirm.
Can households buy meat directly?
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales, which permits direct sales to consumers. No product list, prices, or counter hours are stated in the sources on file.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in any source on file. The listed phone number is (662) 289-2561.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
July 25, 2024
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Kosciusko