Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M45945EST. P45945

Home Place Pastures

Fifth-generation Como, Mississippi farm with its own USDA-inspected slaughter and butcher shop on site.

1789 Home Place Rd, Como, Mississippi 38619 · Panola County

homeplacepastures.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt operations reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Farm, USDA-inspected slaughter plant, butcher shop, and shipping operation all on one property in Como, Mississippi.
  • ·FSIS lists meat and poultry slaughter and processing; cattle and hogs are the species reported as slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales, and the website says processing is offered to other local farmers.
  • ·Direct-to-consumer membership boxes shipped frozen, plus whole, half, and quarter orders.
  • ·Website states 100 percent grass-fed beef and pasture-raised pork with no antibiotics.

About Home Place Pastures

Home Place Pastures operates a USDA-inspected slaughter and processing facility at 1789 Home Place Rd in Como, Panola County, Mississippi, under establishment numbers M45945 and P45945. The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry slaughter, and poultry processing activities, with cattle and hogs reported as the species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the plant as small, with a slaughter volume category of 2.0, and shows a grant of inspection date on file of October 29, 2021. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The business is run by the Bartlett family, who describe farming the same land east of Como for more than 150 years across five generations. According to the company's account, Marshall Bartlett founded Home Place Pastures in 2014 after the farm moved from input intensive row crops to a regenerative grazing operation. For the first years the company used a USDA slaughter facility outside Memphis and rented butcher space in Memphis. Processing moved to the on-farm facility in 2016, on-site slaughter under inspection began in 2018, and an expansion adding production and cold storage space was completed in 2023. The website states that the company offers processing services to other local farmers.

The farm sells its own 100 percent grass-fed beef and pasture-raised pork through a membership box program shipped frozen in dry ice, and through the Home Place Farm Store, described as a butcher shop and eatery at 1630 Home Place Rd. Note that the street number in the federal record (1789 Home Place Rd) differs from the store and contact address given on the website (1630 Home Place Rd). Terms of custom processing for outside farmers, such as booking lead time, minimums, fees, and cut and wrap options, are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry slaughter
  • Poultry processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Processing services for other local farmers
  • Hand butchering, vacuum sealing, and labeling
  • Frozen shipping to customers
  • On-farm butcher shop and farm store
  • On-farm eatery serving lunch
  • Farm tours and group events by arrangement

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifershogs

Products and retail

  • 100 percent grass-fed and grass-finished beef
  • Pasture-raised pork
  • Ground beef in 1-pound packs
  • Steaks including top sirloin
  • Roasts
  • House-made sausage
  • Bacon
  • Whole, half, and quarter animal orders
  • Membership boxes: Home Place Essential Box, Daily Grind Box, Grass Fed Beef Box, Pasture Raised Pork Box, Grass-Fed Grind Box

Hours as listed

Farm Store and butcher shop: Tuesday through Saturday, 8am to 5pm. Closed Sunday and Monday. Lunch served 11 to 3, Tuesday through Saturday.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and the company website states it offers processing services to other local farmers. Species slaughtered under inspection are reported as cattle and hogs, and the federal record also lists poultry slaughter and processing activities. FSIS classifies the operation as small with a slaughter volume category of 2.0. Scheduling, lead times, minimum head counts, kill fees, hanging weight charges, and cut and wrap sheets are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should contact the plant at (662) 292-5808 to confirm current availability, as listed.

Home Place Pastures reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Households can buy directly through the company's membership program, choosing an all beef, all pork, or blended box on a four, six, or eight week schedule, with the option to skip, delay, or cancel. Listed box prices are $149 for the Daily Grind Box (13.5 lbs), $179 for the Pasture Raised Pork Box (16 to 17 lbs), $219 for the Home Place Essential Box (14 to 15 lbs) and the Grass-Fed Grind Box (17 lbs), and $299 for the Grass Fed Beef Box (15 to 16 lbs). Boxes ship frozen in dry ice and vacuum sealed. The site states shipping is free anywhere its ground network reaches in the Southeast, with a flat-rate charge outside that area. Whole, half, and quarter animal orders and gift options are listed. The Home Place Farm Store at 1630 Home Place Rd is described as a butcher shop, and store staff can help assemble bulk orders. Lunch is served on site from 11 to 3, Tuesday through Saturday.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Home Place Pastures

Does Home Place Pastures process animals for other farmers?
The website states the company is proud to offer processing services to other local farmers, and the federal record shows the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, where packages are marked Not for Sale. Booking details, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file. Contact the plant to confirm current availability, as listed.
What species are slaughtered here?
FSIS records report cattle and hogs slaughtered under inspection. The federal activity list also includes poultry slaughter and poultry processing. The website describes only grass-fed beef and pasture-raised pork among its own products.
Can I buy meat without a subscription?
The Farm Store at 1630 Home Place Rd is described as a butcher shop open Tuesday through Saturday, 8am to 5pm, and the site lists whole, half, and quarter purchases plus gifts. Individual retail item pricing is not stated in the sources on file.
Which address is correct?
The plant reports 1789 Home Place Rd, Como, MS 38619 to FSIS, while the website lists 1630 Home Place Rd for the Farm Store and general contact. Both are on the same road in Como.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter
Grant on file
October 29, 2021
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Small volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://homeplacepastures.com/, https://homeplacepastures.com/pages/our-story) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Como