Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M5788EST. P5788EST. V5788

Liberty Locker

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in La Belle, Missouri, handling cattle, hogs, sheep, and deer.

109 E Liberty St, La Belle, Missouri 63447 · Lewis County

Facebook page

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federal grant of inspection on file since November 5, 2021.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and elk or deer under inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Handles both inspected and custom-exempt work, plus retail-exempt sales.
  • ·FSIS size class Very Small, with reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Website on file is a Facebook page; no page text was available, so hours and pricing are not on file.

About Liberty Locker

Liberty Locker operates at 109 E Liberty St in La Belle, Missouri, in Lewis County. It holds federal establishment numbers M5788, P5788, and V5788, with a grant of inspection on file dated November 5, 2021. FSIS lists the plant under meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry processing, and voluntary meat slaughter and processing, and classifies it as Very Small.

Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and elk or deer. The plant's reported slaughter volume falls in the lowest FSIS category, under 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The website on file is a Facebook page, and no page text was available for this record. A secondary directory listing describes the business as a USDA-inspected custom meat processing plant in La Belle. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking practices, cut and wrap options, and retail inventory, are not yet on file. Buyers and producers should contact the plant at (660) 213-3373 to confirm what is offered.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Voluntary meat slaughter and processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale)
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifershogslambselk

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists both inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter, so animals can be handled either for resale under inspection or for the owner's own use with packages marked Not for Sale. Species reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and elk or deer. Reported slaughter volume is under 1,000 head per year, which indicates a small-scale operation. Booking lead times, minimums, kill day scheduling, hanging weight charges, and cut and wrap fees are not stated in the sources on file. Producers should call (660) 213-3373 to ask about scheduling and pricing.

Liberty Locker reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which generally allows direct sales of meat to household customers at the establishment. A secondary directory listing describes it as a custom meat processing plant and invites people to stop by. No product list, bundle offerings, halves or quarters pricing, delivery, shipping, or online ordering are stated in the available sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Liberty Locker

Is Liberty Locker USDA inspected?
Yes. FSIS lists the establishment under numbers M5788, P5788, and V5788, with a grant of inspection dated November 5, 2021, covering meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry processing, and voluntary meat slaughter and processing.
What animals can be taken there?
Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and elk or deer. Poultry processing is also among the listed FSIS activities. Whether any given species is being scheduled at a particular time is not stated in the sources.
Can a household buy meat directly from Liberty Locker?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, and a secondary listing invites people to stop by. No specific retail products, bundles, prices, or shipping options are stated in the available sources.
What are the hours and how far ahead should a producer book?
Neither hours nor booking lead times are stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is (660) 213-3373.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
November 5, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near La Belle