Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M50798

Sullivan Meat Locker

USDA-inspected cattle and hog slaughter and meat processing in Sullivan, Missouri.

300 Emma Lane, Sullivan, Missouri 63080 · Franklin County

reviews.birdeye.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·USDA FSIS establishment M50798, listed for meat slaughter and meat processing
  • ·Cattle and hogs reported as species slaughtered under inspection
  • ·Custom-exempt slaughter offered; those packages are marked Not for Sale
  • ·Retail-exempt sales reported to FSIS
  • ·Very small plant, FSIS slaughter volume category 1, under 1,000 head per year

About Sullivan Meat Locker

Sullivan Meat Locker operates at 300 Emma Lane in Sullivan, Missouri, in Franklin County, under USDA FSIS establishment number M50798. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with cattle and hogs reported as the species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small, and its slaughter volume category is 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The grant of inspection on file is dated September 14, 2023.

In addition to federally inspected work, the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns the meat in packages marked Not for Sale. It also reports retail-exempt sales, a category that covers direct sales of meat to household buyers at the establishment. The listed phone number is (573) 468-2044.

The website on file resolves to a general business review directory rather than a page for this establishment, so it supplied no information about the plant. Secondary listings place the business under butcher shop and meat market categories at the same address, and a Facebook page under the name Sullivan Meat Locker exists. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, scheduling, cut and wrap options, and ownership, are not yet on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

steersheifershogs

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists cattle and hog slaughter under inspection, along with custom-exempt slaughter for animals the customer owns, with the resulting packages marked Not for Sale. FSIS places the plant in the smallest slaughter volume category, under 1,000 head per year, and classifies it as very small, so capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, drop-off arrangements, kill day schedules, hanging weight fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in any source on file. Producers should contact the plant at (573) 468-2044 to confirm species accepted and current scheduling, as listed.

Sullivan Meat Locker reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, a category that covers direct sales of meat to household customers. Secondary directory listings categorize the business as a butcher shop and meat market. No source on file names specific cuts, bundles, halves or quarters, delivery, shipping, or online ordering, and no retail hours are documented. Households can call (573) 468-2044 to ask what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Sullivan Meat Locker

What animals does Sullivan Meat Locker slaughter?
The federal record reports cattle and hogs slaughtered under inspection. No other species are listed.
Can a farmer bring their own animal for processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Booking rules, minimums, and fees are not stated in any source on file.
Can households buy meat directly?
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales, and directory listings categorize it as a butcher shop and meat market. Specific products, bundles, shipping, or online ordering are not documented in the sources on file.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is (573) 468-2044.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
September 14, 2023
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://reviews.birdeye.com/, https://www.chamberofcommerce.com/business-directory/missouri/sullivan/butcher-shop/2027555990-sullivan-meat-locker) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Sullivan