Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M46292EST. P46292EST. V46292

Off the Rail Butchery

Doing business as The Blair Meat Market

USDA-inspected butcher shop in Blair, Nebraska offering slaughter, custom processing, and a retail meat counter.

312 N. 16th Street, Blair, Nebraska 68008 · Washington County

blairmeatmarket.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptHalalRetail-exempt sales reported to FSISCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·FSIS very small plant slaughtering cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison under inspection, at under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Reports halal slaughter to FSIS, along with custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Beef appointments listed for Mondays and Fridays; pork appointments listed for Wednesdays.
  • ·Retail storefront with in-house deli meats, local eggs and cheese, spices and sauces, and beer and spirits.
  • ·Website says the operation began in 2014 and has been USDA inspected since 2018; FSIS grant of inspection date on file is December 2, 2021.

About Off the Rail Butchery

Off the Rail Butchery, doing business as The Blair Meat Market, operates at 312 N. 16th Street in Blair, Nebraska, in Washington County. The establishment holds FSIS establishment numbers M46292, P46292, and V46292, and is listed with FSIS activities covering meat processing, meat slaughter, poultry processing, and voluntary meat processing and slaughter. FSIS classifies the plant as very small, with a grant of inspection date on file of December 2, 2021, and a slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year. Species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packaged marked Not for Sale, retail-exempt sales, and halal slaughter.

The business website describes Blair Meat Market as a family business that got its start in 2014, states that everything sold is produced in house, and says the operation has been a fully inspected USDA facility since 2018. The plant's grant of inspection date on file with FSIS is December 2, 2021, so the two dates differ. The site states the facility is fully USDA inspected and that, upon request, it can slaughter and process customer animals under federal inspection. Orders and appointments are handled by phone or in person at the store.

Alongside processing, the storefront functions as a retail market. The website describes deli meats made in house, party and finger food trays, retail meat cases, and locally sourced items including farm fresh eggs, cheese and goat cheese, spices, sauces, salts, and in-season produce, as well as beer and spirits from local and national brands. Customer reviews reproduced on the site mention steaks cut to order, ground beef, smoked pulled pork, beef sticks, and hog processing that included breakfast sausage, cured bacon, and ham.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Voluntary meat slaughter and processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals
  • Halal slaughter
  • Beef processing by appointment
  • Pork processing by appointment
  • Lamb processing (listed on contact form)
  • Retail meat counter
  • In-house deli meats
  • Party and finger food trays

Species under inspection

steersheifersbullshogssheeplambsbison

Products and retail

  • Deli meats made in house
  • Steaks cut to order
  • Ground beef
  • Chuck roast
  • Smoked pulled pork
  • Beef sticks
  • Breakfast sausage
  • Cured bacon and ham
  • Armadillo eggs
  • Fish
  • Local cheese and goat cheese
  • Farm fresh eggs
  • Spices, sauces, salts, hot sauces, marinades, marinara
  • In-season local produce
  • Beer and spirits

Hours as listed

Tues-Fri: 9:00AM - 5:30PM; Saturday: 9:00AM - 1:00PM (as listed on the website)

For farmers and ranchers

The website states the facility is fully USDA inspected and that, upon request, it can slaughter and process customer animals under federal inspection. FSIS also lists custom-exempt slaughter, meaning animals owned by the customer can be processed with packages marked Not for Sale. Species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison, and the plant reports halal slaughter. Scheduling as listed on the website: beef appointments every Monday and Friday, pork appointments every Wednesday of the month. The contact form lists beef, pork, and lamb processing as service options. Appointments are booked by phone at (402) 426-3300 or in person. Booking lead times, minimums, hanging weight fees, cut and wrap charges, and kill floor capacity are not stated in the sources. FSIS places annual slaughter volume under 1,000 head, so capacity is limited.

Off the Rail Butchery reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The storefront at 312 N. 16th Street carries retail meats, in-house deli meats, and party or finger food trays, and the site notes inventory is updated and restocked regularly. The market also stocks local items including farm fresh eggs, cheese and goat cheese, spices, sauces, and in-season produce, plus beer and spirits from local and nationwide brands. One posted special lists armadillo eggs at $3.00 per pound. Orders are placed by phone or in the store. The sources do not mention online ordering, shipping, delivery, or bundled halves and quarters for retail sale.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Off the Rail Butchery

Can I bring my own animal for slaughter and processing?
The website states that upon request the facility can slaughter and process customer animals under federal inspection, and FSIS also lists custom-exempt slaughter, where packages are marked Not for Sale. Appointments are arranged by calling (402) 426-3300 or stopping in. Whether openings are currently available is not stated.
Which species are slaughtered here?
Species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison. The plant is also listed for poultry processing. The website's contact form lists beef, pork, and lamb processing.
Is halal processing available?
The federal record indicates the establishment reports halal slaughter to FSIS. The website does not describe halal procedures, certifying body, or scheduling for halal work.
Do they ship or deliver retail orders?
Shipping, delivery, and online ordering are not mentioned in the sources. The website directs customers to call or visit the store to place an order.
How much does processing cost?
Prices for slaughter, cut and wrap, curing, or sausage making are not stated in the sources. The only price listed is armadillo eggs at $3.00 per pound as a retail special.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
December 2, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/fsis-inspected-establishments/rail-butchery, https://blairmeatmarket.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Blair