Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M960

Greater Omaha Packing Co., Inc.

Large USDA-inspected cattle slaughter and beef fabrication plant in Omaha, Nebraska, selling wholesale only.

3001 L Street, Omaha, Nebraska 68107 · Douglas County

greateromaha.com

USDA inspectedBRC audit rating of AA reported by the company for 2024

At a glance

  • ·FSIS lists the plant for cattle slaughter and meat processing, size class large, volume category 4.0.
  • ·No custom-exempt processing is reported to FSIS.
  • ·The website states the company does not sell directly to the public.
  • ·The website reports shipping to every U.S. state and more than 70 countries.
  • ·The website describes cattle sourced within 250 miles of the Omaha plant.

About Greater Omaha Packing Co., Inc.

Greater Omaha Packing Co., Inc. operates at 3001 L Street in Omaha, Douglas County, Nebraska, under FSIS establishment number M960. The federal record lists the plant for meat slaughter and meat processing, with cattle as the species slaughtered under inspection, a large size class, and a slaughter volume category of 4.0. No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS. The grant of inspection date on file is March 15, 2021.

The company website states the business has been in beef since 1920, when Herman Cohen began purchasing farm-raised, corn-fed cattle. The site describes a shift in 1992 from carcass processing to boxed beef and value-added production, a new harvest floor in 2000 that raised daily production to 2,400 head, a value-added production line in 2015, an 80 percent expansion of ground beef capacity in 2022, the acquisition of Heartland Proteins in 2024, and the launch of a WinterFrost American Wagyu program in 2024. The site says the company ships beef to every U.S. state and more than 70 countries from a single plant operation in Omaha.

The website describes cattle sourced within a 250-mile radius of the Omaha facility, with buyers selecting Hereford, Angus, and Black Baldy cattle of English heritage that meet feed and age requirements. Customers are described as foodservice, retail, distribution, manufacturing, and international buyers. The site states plainly that the company does not sell directly to the public. Hours are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Cattle slaughter under federal inspection
  • Beef fabrication and boxed beef production
  • Value-added beef processing
  • Ground beef production
  • Wholesale supply to foodservice, retail, distribution, and manufacturing customers
  • Export shipping
  • Cattle procurement from regional producers

Species under inspection

steersheifers

Products and retail

  • Boxed beef
  • Beef primals
  • Ground beef
  • Value-added beef products
  • WinterFrost American Wagyu

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record reports no custom-exempt activity, so this is not a plant that processes an individual animal for a farmer's own freezer as described in the sources. Instead, the website describes a cattle procurement program: buyers source Hereford, Angus, and Black Baldy cattle within a 250-mile radius of the Omaha facility, and cattle must meet the company's feed, age, and English heritage standards. The site describes buyers working with cow-calf producers, stocker and grower operations, and feedlots, and references a supplier affidavit. The website contact form lists Cattle Procurement as a subject option. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, and pricing are not stated in the sources on file.

Greater Omaha Packing Co., Inc. operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

For households

The website states that the company does not sell directly to the public and instead directs consumers to its grocery partners. No retail counter, halves or quarters, bundles, online ordering, delivery, or shipping to households is described in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Greater Omaha Packing Co., Inc.

Can a household buy beef here?
No. The website states the company does not sell directly to the public and refers consumers to its grocery partners.
Does the plant do custom processing for farmers?
The federal record reports no custom-exempt activity at this establishment. The website describes cattle procurement, meaning the company buys finished cattle rather than processing an owner's animal back to that owner.
What species are slaughtered here?
Cattle only, according to the species reported to FSIS.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is (402) 731-1700.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
March 15, 2021
Size class
Large
Slaughter volume
Large volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.greateromaha.com/, https://www.greateromaha.com/our-history/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Omaha