Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47945EST. P47945

Puro Alentejano Iberian Hog Corp

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Salem, New Jersey, handling cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb.

31 Jericho Road, Salem, New Jersey 08079 · Salem County

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptHalal

At a glance

  • ·Grant of inspection on file since August 8, 2024; FSIS size class small.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection.
  • ·Offers custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale.
  • ·Reports halal slaughter to FSIS.
  • ·FSIS published a Notice of Suspension Held in Abeyance letter for Est. M47945 dated May 27, 2025; current status should be verified with FSIS and the plant.

About Puro Alentejano Iberian Hog Corp

Puro Alentejano Iberian Hog Corp operates a small USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant at 31 Jericho Road in Salem, New Jersey, in Salem County. The establishment holds meat and poultry establishment numbers M47945 and P47945, with a grant of inspection dated August 8, 2024. FSIS lists its activities as meat processing and meat slaughter, and classifies the plant as small.

The plant reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports halal slaughter. FSIS places it in slaughter volume category 2.0, above the smallest tier of under 1,000 head per year.

No website is on file for this establishment, and no company-published description of hours, pricing, booking, or retail sales was available. FSIS has published a Notice of Suspension Held in Abeyance letter addressed to Establishment M47945, dated May 27, 2025, referring to a suspension issued May 15, 2025 and a decision communicated May 23, 2025. Buyers and producers should contact the plant directly at (862) 755-6583 and consult the current FSIS directory for status. Details beyond the federal record are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals
  • Halal slaughter

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowsroaster pigssheeplambs

Products and retail

No retail products on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows this plant slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, and also performs custom-exempt slaughter in which the animals remain the customer's property and the packaged meat is marked Not for Sale. Halal slaughter is reported to FSIS. Scheduling practices, lead times, minimums, kill fees, cut and wrap charges, hanging or aging arrangements, and drop-off procedures are not stated in any source on file. Producers should also note that FSIS has published a Notice of Suspension Held in Abeyance letter for Establishment M47945 dated May 27, 2025, and should confirm current inspection status and availability directly with the plant before hauling animals.

Puro Alentejano Iberian Hog Corp reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

Questions about Puro Alentejano Iberian Hog Corp

What species does this plant slaughter?
The establishment reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb to FSIS as species slaughtered under inspection.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Booking details, fees, and minimums are not stated in any source on file.
Is halal slaughter available?
Halal slaughter is reported to FSIS for this establishment. No further detail on certifying body or scheduling is on file.
Does the plant sell meat to households or ship orders?
No retail counter, bundle, delivery, or shipping information is stated in the sources on file. There is no website on file for this establishment.
What is the plant's current inspection status?
FSIS lists a grant of inspection dated August 8, 2024. FSIS also published a Notice of Suspension Held in Abeyance letter for Establishment M47945 dated May 27, 2025, referencing a suspension issued May 15, 2025. Current status should be confirmed with FSIS and the establishment.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
August 8, 2024
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Small volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Salem