Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M1916

Circle S Meats

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Rutherfordton, North Carolina, listed as very small.

1201 McEntire Road, Rutherfordton, North Carolina 28138 · Rutherford County

circlesfarm.net

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federal establishment number M1916, grant of inspection dated July 30, 2024.
  • ·Reports both slaughter and processing; species are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb.
  • ·Custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales are both reported to FSIS.
  • ·FSIS very small size class, under 1,000 head slaughtered per year.
  • ·The website listed on the federal record belongs to a separate Georgia farm business and does not describe this plant.

About Circle S Meats

Circle S Meats is a federally inspected meat establishment at 1201 McEntire Road in Rutherfordton, Rutherford County, North Carolina, operating under establishment number M1916. The plant reports both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing activities to the USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service, with a grant of inspection date on file of July 30, 2024. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small, and its reported slaughter volume falls in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year.

Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales. The listed phone number in the federal record is (828) 129-3047, which appears incomplete or mistyped; a business directory listing for the same street address gives a number beginning 828-429 and a ZIP of 28139 rather than 28138.

A website, circlesfarm.net, appears on file for this record, but the text at that address belongs to Circle S Farm, a produce and pasture-raised meat operation run by Letty and Curtis Smith in Menlo, Georgia, that sells beef quarters processed by an outside USDA processor. That material describes a different business in a different state and is not used here to describe the Rutherfordton plant. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, cut and wrap options, ownership, and whether a retail counter is open to walk-in customers, are not yet on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowssheeplambs

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection, and the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter of animals owned by the customer, with resulting packages marked Not for Sale. FSIS places the establishment in the very small size class with a slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year, so scheduling capacity is likely limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill fees, cut and wrap charges, hanging weight terms, and drop-off instructions are not stated in any source on file. Producers should contact the plant directly to confirm what work it is taking, as listed.

Circle S Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which allows direct sales of meat to household customers. No source on file names specific cuts, bundles, halves or quarters, delivery, shipping, or online ordering for this plant, and no retail hours are documented. Buyers should contact the establishment directly to confirm what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Circle S Meats

What animals does Circle S Meats slaughter?
Under federal inspection it reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb to FSIS. Poultry is not listed.
Can I bring my own animal for custom processing?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Booking details, fees, and lead times are not stated in the sources on file.
Can I buy meat directly from the plant?
It reports retail-exempt sales, which permits direct sales to consumers. No retail hours, product list, or ordering method is documented, so contact the plant to confirm.
Is circlesfarm.net the plant's website?
That address is on file with this record, but the content there is for Circle S Farm in Menlo, Georgia, operated by Letty and Curtis Smith. It describes a farm CSA and beef shares processed by an outside USDA processor, not the Rutherfordton establishment.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
July 30, 2024
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/fsis-inspected-establishments/circle-s-meats, https://www.chamberofcommerce.com/business-directory/north-carolina/rutherfordton/meat-processor/2027744666-circle-s-meats) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Rutherfordton