Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M7478EST. P1

Tyson Foods, Inc.

Doing business as Delightful Farms; Gold Leaf; Holly Farms; Howard County; Prospect Farms; TSD Sales and Distribution; Tyson Farms, Inc.; Tyson Sales & Distribution, Inc

Large USDA-inspected poultry slaughter and processing plant operated by Tyson Foods in Wilkesboro, North Carolina.

704 Factory Street, Wilkesboro, North Carolina 28697 · Wilkes County

tysonfoods.com

USDA inspected

At a glance

  • ·Listed by FSIS for poultry slaughter and poultry processing; poultry is the only species reported slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·FSIS size class is Large, with a slaughter volume category of 5.0, the directory's highest listed band.
  • ·No custom-exempt processing is reported to FSIS for this establishment.
  • ·Grant of inspection date on file is November 18, 2020.
  • ·The website on file is the Tyson Foods corporate site; it does not describe this plant's services, hours, or sales to individuals.

About Tyson Foods, Inc.

The Wilkesboro, North Carolina plant at 704 Factory Street is listed in the USDA FSIS directory under establishment numbers M7478 and P1, operated by Tyson Foods, Inc. The federal record shows the company doing business under several names, including Delightful Farms, Gold Leaf, Holly Farms, Howard County, Prospect Farms, TSD Sales and Distribution, Tyson Farms, Inc., and Tyson Sales & Distribution, Inc. FSIS lists the activities as poultry slaughter and poultry processing, with poultry as the only species slaughtered under inspection. The grant of inspection date on file is November 18, 2020, and FSIS classifies the establishment in its largest size class, with a slaughter volume category of 5.0.

No custom-exempt activity is reported for this establishment, meaning the federal record does not show it processing animals for return to their owners. The website on file is the Tyson Foods corporate site, which describes the company at a national scale rather than this location. That site states Tyson Foods reported $54 billion in fiscal year 2025 sales, employed roughly 133,000 team members as of February 2026, and produces approximately 20 percent of the beef, pork, and chicken in the United States, selling under the Tyson, Jimmy Dean, Hillshire Farm, Ball Park, Wright, Aidells, and State Fair brands. The corporate site also identifies Tyson Foods as a protein supplier to national restaurant chains, schools, military bases, hospitals, nursing homes, and retail channels including club, grocery, and discount stores.

Details specific to the Wilkesboro operation, such as hours, plant-level services, booking practices, or retail sales at the plant, are not stated on the corporate website and are not yet on file here. Secondary search listings reference a Tyson Foods Inc Family Store at 1600 River Street in Wilkesboro, a separate address from the inspected establishment; that store is not part of the federal record for M7478+P1 and its offerings are not documented in the sources reviewed.

Services

  • Poultry slaughter under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing under federal inspection

Species under inspection

chickens

Products and retail

No retail products on file.

Questions about Tyson Foods, Inc.

Can a farmer bring birds or livestock here for custom processing?
The federal record reports no custom-exempt activity at this establishment, and no custom processing, booking, or cut and wrap information appears in the sources. Nothing on file indicates the plant takes work from individual producers.
What species does this plant handle?
FSIS lists poultry as the only species slaughtered under inspection at this location.
Can a household buy meat directly from this location?
Retail sales at the plant are not stated in the sources. Search listings reference a Tyson Foods Inc Family Store at 1600 River Street in Wilkesboro, a different address that is not part of the federal record for this establishment, and its hours and products are not documented here.
Is the plant inspected by USDA?
Yes. It appears in the USDA FSIS directory under establishment numbers M7478 and P1, with a grant of inspection date on file of November 18, 2020.

Federal record

Activities
Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter
Grant on file
November 18, 2020
Size class
Large
Slaughter volume
Very large volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.tysonfoods.com/, https://www.tysonfoods.com/who-we-are/our-story) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Wilkesboro