Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47294

Watauga Meats and Butchery

Doing business as Watauga Meats Company

USDA-inspected custom cut and wrap plant near Boone, serving beef, pork, lamb, and goat producers.

160 Cole Drive, Vilas, North Carolina 28692 · Watauga County

wataugabutchery.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISHACCP and regulatory compliance handled in-house, per the website

At a glance

  • ·Very small FSIS establishment M47294, inspected since October 6, 2022, reporting Meat Processing and Meat Slaughter.
  • ·Website states it does not currently have an inspected harvest floor onsite and partners with USDA processors in neighboring counties, handling transport both ways.
  • ·Accepts beef older than 30 months for inspected processing, with segregation required and some bone-in cuts unavailable.
  • ·Beef, lamb, and goat processing as listed, with burger patties and sausages; USDA inspected pork listed as coming soon.
  • ·Plant at 160 Cole Drive is closed to the public; the office address on the website is 1699 Linville Creek Road, Vilas.

About Watauga Meats and Butchery

Watauga Meats and Butchery, doing business as Watauga Meats Company and trading online as Watauga Butchery, is a very small establishment at 160 Cole Drive in Vilas, Watauga County, North Carolina. It holds establishment number M47294 with a grant of inspection dated October 6, 2022, and reports Meat Processing and Meat Slaughter activities to FSIS. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Species detail is not reported to FSIS. The website describes processing for beef, lamb, and goat, with USDA inspected pork processing listed as coming soon.

The website states the business was founded by farmers in 2020 in response to processing backlogs during the COVID-19 pandemic shutdowns, when local lead times moved from about 4 weeks to 12 months. It describes itself as a USDA inspected custom meat processor in the Appalachian Mountains at just below 3,000 feet elevation. Staff named on the site include head butcher Thomas Fritzinger, shop coordinator Trish Cole, and manager Bob Shipley, a partner in Shipley Farms Beef, a family cattle operation west of Boone connected to R.G. Shipley Sr., a 1980 inductee into the NC Agricultural Hall of Fame.

Two points in the record differ. The plant reports Meat Slaughter activity to FSIS, while its website states it does not currently have its own inspected harvest floor onsite and partners with USDA processors in neighboring counties for harvesting, handling transport to the harvest site and back for cutting and packing. Addresses and phones also differ: the federal record lists 160 Cole Drive with phone (828) 297-9622, while the website lists a main office at 1699 Linville Creek Road, Vilas, phone (828) 484-6328, and notes the Cole Drive plant is closed to the public due to safety concerns, visit by appointment only.

Services

  • Custom butchering and packing under USDA inspection
  • Custom-exempt processing with Not for Sale packaging
  • Cut to order cutting and vacuum sealed Cryovac packaging
  • USDA compliant retail labeling, with optional custom branding, bar coding, and full color labels
  • Coordination of transport to and from partner harvest facilities
  • Field kill and cut sheet coordination
  • Dry aging, typically 3 to 7 days
  • Boxing in white cardboard boxes and packing in metal baskets
  • Membership program for producers selling retail or wholesale
  • Receiving and processing farmer-harvested carcasses in some circumstances, by prior coordination

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Lamb
  • Goat
  • Burger patties
  • Sausages
  • Pork processing listed as coming soon

For farmers and ranchers

The website states the shop focuses primarily on producers in its membership program, tailored to beef and other meat producers who sell under their own meat handlers' license, with bookings for retail services made available to the public for USDA inspected or custom exempt packing after members' needs are served. A waitlist and membership information are described on the site's Members page. Because there is no inspected harvest floor onsite as described, animals to be packed under inspection for retail sale must be delivered by the producer to the receiving site, and the shop handles transportation to a partner harvest facility in a neighboring county and back for processing. Cut instructions are reviewed a week in advance and must be received on or before the day the animal is delivered for slaughter; a cut sheet template and beef, lamb and goat, and pork cut sheets are posted. The shop states it can now accept beef older than 30 months for inspected processing, with over-30-month carcasses segregated per USDA rules, which adds handling costs and prevents some bone-in cuts. Proof of age documentation is recommended for all beef over 24 months. The site also notes that per North Carolina Department of Agriculture guidelines, on-farm harvest for personal use marked Not for Resale is no longer permissible as of November 16, 2023 without adequate carcass cleaning facilities, and that farmer-harvested carcasses can be received in some circumstances after calling the office. Prices, minimums, and deposits are not stated in the sources.

Watauga Meats and Butchery reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The sources describe a producer-focused custom and inspected cut and wrap operation, not a retail counter. The plant at 160 Cole Drive is described as closed to the public due to safety concerns, with visits by appointment only. Product is packaged in clear plastic Cryovac with USDA compliant retail labels and returned to customers frozen, with fresh product provided as cooler space allows. No halves or quarters, bundles, shipping, delivery, or online ordering for household buyers are stated in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Watauga Meats and Butchery

Does this plant slaughter animals onsite?
The federal record lists Meat Slaughter as an FSIS activity for M47294, and the plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter. The website states it does not currently have its own inspected harvest floor onsite and partners with USDA processors in neighboring counties for harvesting, then transports carcasses back for cutting and packing. Buyers should confirm current arrangements with the plant.
Can I buy meat directly from the plant?
No retail counter is described in the sources. The website says the plant at 160 Cole Drive is closed to the public due to safety concerns, with visits by appointment only. Its services are aimed at farmers and producers who sell under their own meat handlers' license.
What species and cuts are handled?
The website lists processing for beef, pork, lamb, and goat, and states elsewhere that USDA inspected pork processing is coming soon. Burger patties and sausages are offered, with more value-added items described as in development. Species detail is not reported to FSIS.
How do I book, and what does it cost?
The website says it focuses on producers in its membership program, with public bookings for USDA inspected or custom exempt packing offered after members' needs are served, and directs producers to the Members page for membership information or the booking waitlist. Cut instructions are due on or before the delivery day. Prices, fees, minimums, and hours are not stated in the sources on file.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
October 6, 2022
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very Small establishment (FSIS size class)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.wataugabutchery.com/, https://www.wataugabutchery.com/about-us/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Vilas