Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M790

Plantation Processing LLC

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Marshville, North Carolina, handling cattle, hogs, and sheep.

6613 Hwy 218 East, Marshville, North Carolina 28103 · Union County

Facebook page

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·USDA FSIS establishment M790, listed for both slaughter and processing.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Very small establishment, under 1,000 head slaughtered per year.
  • ·Located in Marshville, Union County, North Carolina; phone (704) 385-9429.

About Plantation Processing LLC

Plantation Processing LLC operates under USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service establishment number M790 at 6613 Hwy 218 East in Marshville, Union County, North Carolina. The federal record lists the plant for both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing, with a grant of inspection on file dated July 28, 2023. FSIS classifies it as a very small establishment, and its reported slaughter volume falls in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year.

Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales, a category that covers direct sales to household buyers at the plant.

No website text is on file beyond a Facebook page. A Facebook post referenced in search results states that everything is processed in-house. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking practices, cut and wrap options, and ownership, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullscalveshogslambs

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists Plantation Processing LLC for both slaughter and processing of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, and the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, so animals owned by a farmer can be processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale. It also holds a grant of inspection, which allows product intended for resale to be processed under inspection. Reported slaughter volume is under 1,000 head per year, so scheduling capacity is likely limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill day schedules, and cut and wrap fees are not stated in any source on file. Farmers should call (704) 385-9429 to confirm availability, as listed.

Plantation Processing LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which indicates some direct sales activity, and a Facebook post referenced in search results describes everything being processed in-house. Whether there is a staffed retail counter, and whether halves, quarters, bundles, delivery, shipping, or online ordering are offered, is not stated in the sources on file. Buyers should contact the plant directly to confirm what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Plantation Processing LLC

Does Plantation Processing slaughter animals, or only cut and wrap?
The FSIS record lists both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing activities, so the plant is authorized for both. Species reported are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Booking details, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Can households buy meat directly from the plant?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which covers direct sales. Whether a retail counter is open to walk-in customers, and what cuts or bundles are offered, is not stated in the sources on file.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. A third-party business directory listing mentions hours but no hours appear in the material available. Contact (704) 385-9429 to confirm.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
July 28, 2023
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Marshville