Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M2156EST. V2156

Spruce Hill Meats

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Bowman, North Dakota, with an on-site retail counter.

8556 147th Ave SW, Bowman, North Dakota 58623 · Bowman County

sprucehillmeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Grant of inspection on file with FSIS dated January 4, 2024; classified as Very Small.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, goats, and bison under inspection, at under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Offers both USDA-inspected processing for resale and custom-exempt processing marked Not for Sale.
  • ·In-house retail counter with beef, pork, and smoked products, with a per-pound price list published online and updated March 20, 2025.
  • ·Website states in-house beef and pork come from the owning family or local producers, with source verification available.

About Spruce Hill Meats

Spruce Hill Meats is a very small USDA-inspected establishment at 8556 147th Ave SW in Bowman, North Dakota, operating under establishment numbers M2156 and V2156. The federal record lists meat slaughter and meat processing, along with voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing of meat, with a grant of inspection date on file of January 4, 2024. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, goats, and bison. FSIS places the plant in slaughter volume category 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year.

The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales. Its website describes the business as a locally owned and operated custom and retail USDA-inspected processing facility, and states that USDA inspection allows it to process producers' animals for farm-to-table resale. The site names Chad and Michelle and Bill in connection with the family running the business.

An in-house retail counter offers fresh locally raised beef, pork, and smoked products. The website states that all in-house beef and pork are raised by the owning family or by local producers, and it emphasizes source-verified product. A published price list, per pound and updated March 20, 2025, notes that prices are set according to the USDA Weekly Retail Beef Activity Report for the region and are subject to change. Hours, booking practices, and processing fees are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under USDA inspection
  • Meat processing under USDA inspection
  • Voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing of meat
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Cutting to customer specifications
  • Smoked and further-processed items (summer sausage, snack sticks, jerky, brats, patties)
  • On-site retail counter

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowssheeplambsgoatsbison

Products and retail

  • Ribeye, sirloin, porterhouse, T-bone, New York strip, tenderloin, round, cube, flank, skirt, top sirloin, and sirloin tip steaks
  • Brisket, arm, chuck, prime rib, sirloin tip, rump, round, tri tip roasts, picanha, whole tenderloin
  • Ground beef, stew meat, short ribs, soup bones, beef fat, oxtail
  • Beef heart, liver, tongue
  • Regular and thick cut bacon, side pork, pork chops, ground pork, breakfast or Italian pork sausage
  • Beef patties (original, Montreal, dill pickle, pizza)
  • Summer sausage (original, cheese, jalapeno, jalapeno cheese, garlic)
  • Snack sticks (original, cheese, teriyaki, honey BBQ, jalapeno)
  • Jerky (original, jalapeno, teriyaki, black pepper, honey BBQ, red pepper)
  • Beef brats (jalapeno, teriyaki pineapple, cheeseburger, nacho) and beef country style sausage
  • Dog bones

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists slaughter of cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, goats, and bison under inspection, plus custom-exempt slaughter for animals the customer owns, where packages are marked Not for Sale. Because the plant holds a USDA grant of inspection, its website states that producers' animals can be processed for farm-to-table resale. The website says product is cut to customer specifications. FSIS classifies the plant as very small with a slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. Booking lead times, scheduling procedures, kill and cut-and-wrap fees, hanging weight charges, and drop-off requirements are not stated in the sources on file. Contact the plant at (701) 523-4799 or through the website contact form to confirm availability as listed.

Spruce Hill Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Spruce Hill Meats operates an in-house retail counter with fresh locally raised beef, pork, and smoked products, according to its website. A per-pound price list is published online and was updated March 20, 2025, with prices described as set according to the USDA Weekly Retail Beef Activity Report for the region and subject to change. Listed items include steaks, roasts, ground beef, bacon and pork cuts, patties, summer sausage, snack sticks, jerky, and brats. The website states that in-house beef and pork are raised by the owning family or by local producers and that source-verified meat is available. Sales of halves and quarters, bundles, delivery, shipping, and online ordering are not described in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Spruce Hill Meats

What animals does Spruce Hill Meats slaughter?
The plant reports to FSIS that it slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, goats, and bison under inspection. Its FSIS slaughter volume category is under 1,000 head per year.
Can a producer sell meat processed here?
Yes, as listed. The establishment holds a USDA grant of inspection (M2156, V2156), and its website states that USDA inspection allows it to process producers' animals for farm-to-table resale. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, where product is marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.
Are prices for retail cuts published?
Yes. The website lists per-pound retail prices updated March 20, 2025, including ribeye at $20, ground beef at $7, bacon at $8, summer sausage from $7, snack sticks from $14, and jerky at $22. The site states prices are subject to change and are set according to the USDA Weekly Retail Beef Activity Report for the region.
What are the hours, and how do I book processing?
Hours, booking procedures, lead times, and processing fees are not stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is (701) 523-4799, and the website has a contact form.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
January 4, 2024
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://sprucehillmeats.com/, https://sprucehillmeats.com/about-us/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Bowman