Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M9246EST. P9246EST. V9246

Crystal Creek Meats

USDA-inspected butcher shop and slaughter plant in Roseburg, Oregon, with custom and wild game processing.

5357 N. Umpqua Hwy, Roseburg, Oregon 97470 · Douglas County

crystalcreekmeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptFSIS export certification activity listedCustom-exempt slaughter reported (Not for Sale packaging)Retail-exempt sales reported

At a glance

  • ·Slaughter and processing for cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection, plus poultry slaughter and processing
  • ·Custom and wild game processing with a digital cut sheet controlling cutting, wrapping, labeling, and freezing
  • ·Retail case with beef, pork, poultry, seafood, and house-smoked items, most cuts priced by the pound at weigh-in
  • ·Website lists two Douglas County shops, Sutherlin and Roseburg, with online reservation and in-store pickup
  • ·House jerky and snack sticks listed as shipping nationwide

About Crystal Creek Meats

Crystal Creek Meats operates at 5357 N. Umpqua Hwy in Roseburg, Douglas County, Oregon, under FSIS establishment numbers M9246, P9246 and V9246. The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry slaughter, poultry processing, voluntary meat and poultry processing, voluntary meat slaughter, and export certification. Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb are reported as species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the plant as Very Small, with a grant of inspection date on file of October 26, 2021, and a slaughter volume category of 2.0.

The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales. The company website presents the business as Crystal Creek Quality Meats, a butcher shop with two Douglas County locations in Sutherlin and Roseburg, and cites USDA EST 9246. The site states the business was opened by Robert Shepherd with a single case in Sutherlin in 1962 and is now run by Jacob Shepherd, describing three generations of butchers.

The retail side sells beef, pork, poultry, seafood, and smokehouse items, with prices listed as estimated or market price and final price set at weigh-in. Beef, pork, and wild game custom processing is offered through a digital cut sheet the site says lets customers specify how orders are wrapped, labeled, and frozen. Hours are not stated in the material on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Poultry slaughter and poultry processing
  • Meat processing
  • Voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing, meat and poultry
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Export certification
  • Wild game processing
  • House smokehouse curing and smoking
  • Digital cut sheet ordering
  • Online reservation with in-store pickup in Sutherlin or Roseburg
  • Nationwide shipping of jerky and snack sticks
  • Wholesale and processing inquiries (per website contact page)

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowsroaster pigssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Beef ribeye, New York strip, T-bone, rib steaks, tenderloin and whole tenderloin
  • Top sirloin, petite sirloin, flank, chuck steaks, London broil
  • Chuck roast, rib roast, rump roast, bottom round roast
  • Brisket, short ribs, tri-tip (fat on and trimmed)
  • All beef hot dogs 4:1, beef liver
  • Wagyu ribeye, New York strip, top sirloin, top caps (picanha), tri tip, boneless chuck
  • Beef marrow, femur, pipe, finger and saddle bones
  • Pork chops bone-in and boneless, smoked pork chops
  • Baby back ribs, St. Louis ribs
  • Bone-in and boneless pork butt, pork shoulder steaks, pork tenderloins
  • Breakfast links, regular bacon, pepper bacon, Redneck cottage bacon, smoked hocks
  • Chicken breasts, thighs, drumsticks, drumettes, wings, whole fryer, chicken kabobs
  • Stuffed chicken (asparagus, broccoli, cordon bleu, jalapeno, mushroom, pesto fontina)
  • Ground turkey, game hen
  • Sockeye and coho salmon fillets, ahi tuna loin, cod loins, catfish, perch
  • Scallops, stuffed scallops, shrimp, calamari steaks, clams and clam strips
  • House beef jerky, pepperoni snack sticks
  • Backyard BBQ Bundle
  • Butcher's Select 250 oz tailgate pack

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows meat and poultry slaughter under inspection, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered, plus custom-exempt slaughter for animals owned by the customer. The website describes custom processing for producers and hunters, covering beef, pork, and wild game, broken down to the customer's specification using a digital cut sheet that sets how the order is wrapped, labeled, and frozen. The site also references beef halves and fall harvest work and lists processing and wholesale inquiries through its contact page. Booking windows, drop-off scheduling, minimums, kill and cut fees, hanging weight pricing, and carcass aging times are not stated in the sources on file. Export certification is listed among FSIS activities, which matters for producers selling into export channels.

Crystal Creek Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Retail buyers can shop a counter case with beef, pork, poultry, seafood, and smokehouse items, with cuts described as cut to order from whole primals and priced by the pound, many marked estimated or market price with the final price set at weigh-in. The website offers online reservation with in-store pickup at the Sutherlin or Roseburg locations, and states that house-smoked jerky and snack sticks are shelf-stable and ship nationwide. Bundles listed include a Backyard BBQ Bundle at $59.99 described as feeding 8 to 10 and a 250 ounce Butcher's Select tailgate pack. Prices and promotions shown on the site, such as a weekend ribeye special and a holiday sale, are dated and may not be current. The federal record notes retail-exempt sales. Sales of halves and quarters to households are not described in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Crystal Creek Meats

Does Crystal Creek Meats slaughter livestock?
Yes. The FSIS record lists meat slaughter and poultry slaughter, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter of animals owned by the customer, with packages marked Not for Sale.
Can a hunter bring in wild game?
The website states it processes wild game for producers and hunters, with orders broken down to the customer's specification using a digital cut sheet. Species accepted, seasonal cutoffs, and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
What are the hours and how do I book processing?
Hours are not stated in the material on file. The website directs processing inquiries through its contact page and offers online ordering with pickup in Sutherlin or Roseburg. Booking lead times and minimums are not stated. Nothing here indicates whether the plant is currently accepting work; the record is as listed.
Can meat be shipped to me?
The website states that house-smoked jerky and snack sticks are shelf-stable and ship anywhere in the country, and collection pages carry a Ships Nationwide label. Fresh cuts are described as reserve online, pick up in Sutherlin or Roseburg. Shipping terms and costs are not stated.

Federal record

Activities
Certification - Export; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Processing - Poultry; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
October 26, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Small volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.crystalcreekmeats.com/, https://www.crystalcreekmeats.com/shop/collection/beef) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Roseburg