Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M9398A

Dixon Meats

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant with a retail meat counter in Shelocta, Pennsylvania.

5517 Parkwood Road, Shelocta, Pennsylvania 15774 · Indiana County

dixonmeat.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for both slaughter and processing, establishment M9398A.
  • ·Cattle and hogs reported as species slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·Custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales both reported to FSIS.
  • ·Retail counter with posted specials on ground beef and steaks; website states prices are not final.
  • ·Very small plant, FSIS slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.

About Dixon Meats

Dixon Meats operates at 5517 Parkwood Road in Shelocta, Indiana County, Pennsylvania, under USDA establishment number M9398A. The Food Safety and Inspection Service lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with a grant of inspection on file dated July 23, 2013. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small and places its slaughter volume in category 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year. Cattle and hogs are the species reported slaughtered under inspection.

The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it handles animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales. Its website describes the business as retail and custom butchering and lists sections for bulk family packs, restaurant bulk orders, frozen food, a bakery, and seasonings and sauces, including Con Yeager Spices. Gift certificates are listed as available, and the site notes that a 3 percent fee is charged for all credit card processing, effective March 1, 2019.

Posted prices on the website are described there as not final, with a note to call for updates. Search listings show varying street numbers on Parkwood Road; the address on the federal record and the website is 5517 Parkwood Road. Details beyond what appears in the federal record and the website text, such as ownership, founding year, and custom booking procedures, are not yet on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Custom butchering
  • Retail meat counter
  • Bulk family packs
  • Restaurant bulk orders
  • Gift certificates

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssows

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Steaks
  • Pork
  • Ham
  • Fish
  • Roasts
  • Ground beef, 80/20, 85/15, 90/10
  • Ground beef patties, quarter pound and third pound
  • Top sirloin steak
  • Strip steak
  • Delmonico steak
  • T-bone steak
  • Fillet and whole fillet
  • Frozen foods
  • Bakery items
  • Seasonings and sauces, including Con Yeager Spices

Hours as listed

Sunday closed; Monday closed; Tuesday 9am to 5pm; Wednesday 9am to 6pm; Thursday closed; Friday 9am to 6pm; Saturday 9am to 1pm

For farmers and ranchers

FSIS lists Dixon Meats for meat slaughter and meat processing under federal inspection, with cattle and hogs reported as the species slaughtered. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and its website describes the business as retail and custom butchering. Slaughter volume is reported in the FSIS category of under 1,000 head per year, and the plant is classed as very small. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, minimums, hanging weight charges, and cut and wrap fees are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should call (724) 726-5732 to confirm current availability and terms.

Dixon Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes retail butchering alongside custom work, with listed specials on ground beef at 80/20, 85/15, and 90/10, quarter pound and third pound ground beef patties, top sirloin, strip steak, Delmonico, T-bone, fillet, and whole fillet. Several specials are tied to volume, such as 10 pounds or more on ground beef and 5 pounds or more on top sirloin steak. The site notes that web prices are not final and asks customers to call for updates. Other sections listed include bulk family packs, frozen food, a bakery, and seasonings and sauces. A 3 percent fee applies to all credit card processing. Halves and quarters, delivery, shipping, and online ordering are not described in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Dixon Meats

Does Dixon Meats slaughter as well as process?
Yes. FSIS lists the establishment for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with cattle and hogs reported as the species slaughtered under inspection.
Can I bring my own animal for custom processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and its website describes retail and custom butchering. Booking details, minimums, and cut and wrap fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Can I buy meat directly at the shop?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales and its website lists retail specials on ground beef, steaks, and fillets, plus bulk family packs, frozen food, a bakery, and seasonings. Hours are listed as Tuesday 9am to 5pm, Wednesday 9am to 6pm, Friday 9am to 6pm, and Saturday 9am to 1pm, closed Sunday, Monday, and Thursday.
Are the prices on the website current?
The website states that web prices are not final and asks customers to call for updates. It also states that a 3 percent fee is charged for all credit card processing, effective March 1, 2019.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
July 23, 2013
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://dixonmeat.com/, https://www.dixonmeat.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Shelocta