Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M1642EST. P1642EST. V1642

The Meat House

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Andover, South Dakota, serving cattle, hogs, sheep, and bison.

41599 US Highway 12, Andover, South Dakota 57422 · Day County

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Grant of inspection on file dated August 4, 2023.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison under inspection.
  • ·FSIS very small size class, under 1,000 head slaughtered per year.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·No website on file; hours, pricing, and booking details are not yet on record.

About The Meat House

The Meat House operates at 41599 US Highway 12 in Andover, South Dakota, in Day County, under FSIS establishment numbers M1642, P1642, and V1642. The federal record lists the plant for meat slaughter and meat processing, along with voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing of meat. Its grant of inspection on file is dated August 4, 2023, and FSIS classifies it as a very small establishment.

Species reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison. The plant reports a slaughter volume category of 1, meaning fewer than 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

No website is on file for this establishment in the registry. Secondary search listings refer to a butcher shop in Andover under the name The Meathouse, describing home-raised meat processing and an online product page that mentions Wagyu beef cuts. Those listings are not confirmed by the federal record, and details such as hours, booking practice, pricing, and ownership are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing of meat
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing, packages marked Not for Sale
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowslambsbison

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Lamb and mutton
  • Bison
  • Wagyu beef cuts (per secondary listing)

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists slaughter under inspection for cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison, plus custom-exempt slaughter for animals the customer already owns, with those packages marked Not for Sale. Volume is reported in the smallest FSIS category, under 1,000 head per year, so scheduling capacity is likely limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill day schedule, hanging fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in any source on file. Farmers should call (605) 298-6328 to confirm whether work is being accepted and on what terms.

The Meat House reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which allows direct sales of meat to household buyers at the establishment. Secondary listings describe a butcher shop in Andover with an online product page mentioning Wagyu beef, but no retail hours, bundle offerings, halves and quarters pricing, delivery, or shipping details appear in the sources on file. Buyers should contact the plant directly to confirm what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about The Meat House

What species can be slaughtered here?
The plant reports cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison as species slaughtered under federal inspection.
Can I bring my own animal for custom processing?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling terms and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Can households buy meat directly from the plant?
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales. Secondary listings describe a butcher shop in Andover with an online product page, but retail hours and ordering details are not confirmed in the sources on file.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in any source on file. The listed phone number is (605) 298-6328.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
August 4, 2023
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Andover