Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M32130EST. P32130EST. V32130

Dakota Provisions LLC

Doing business as Dakota 44; Dakota Deli; Dakota Provisions

Grower-owned turkey slaughter and processing plant in Huron, South Dakota, with an on-site retail market.

20827 403rd Ave., Huron, South Dakota 57350 · Beadle County

dakotaprovisions.com

USDA inspectedFSIS export certification activityGlobal Animal Partnership (GAP) certification of supplying farms, per the website

At a glance

  • ·FSIS size class Large, with poultry slaughter, poultry processing, and meat processing activities listed
  • ·Holds FSIS export certification, so product can be prepared for foreign markets
  • ·Website reports more than 200 million pounds of product annually and over 600 associates
  • ·Wyshbone Market on site sells to the public, per the website, in operation since April 2012
  • ·No custom-exempt processing reported to FSIS

About Dakota Provisions LLC

Dakota Provisions LLC operates a large USDA-inspected poultry plant at 20827 403rd Ave. in Huron, Beadle County, South Dakota. The establishment holds meat, poultry, and egg products numbers M32130, P32130, and V32130, with a grant of inspection date on file of December 27, 2021. FSIS lists its activities as poultry slaughter, poultry processing, meat processing, meat and poultry identification, and export certification. Poultry is the only species reported slaughtered under inspection, and the plant falls in FSIS slaughter volume category 4.0. No custom-exempt activity is reported. The company also does business as Dakota 44, Dakota Deli, and Dakota Provisions.

According to its website, the company was formed in 2004 when 44 independent growers, many from Hutterite colonies, joined together, and the custom-built plant opened in December 2005 with operations beginning in 2006 at a facility described as costing $120 million. The site states the operation now produces over 200 million pounds of product annually with more than 600 associates, and that governance rests with the 44 grower-owners, a 13-member board of directors, and a four-member executive committee. Customers named are foodservice operators, private-label retailers, distributors, and further processors nationwide.

The website describes turkeys sourced from the cooperative's family farms, all located within three hours of the plant, raised on a vegetarian diet of farm-grown grains, never administered antibiotics, and housed uncaged in barns with six consecutive hours of darkness daily. Farms are described as Global Animal Partnership (GAP) certified. Note that the plant reports poultry slaughter to FSIS, while the website also describes beef, ham, chicken, and specialty meat products, consistent with its meat processing activity rather than red meat slaughter. Details on rates, scheduling, and any services for individual livestock owners are not stated in the sources and are not yet on file.

Services

  • Poultry slaughter under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing
  • Meat processing
  • Meat and poultry identification
  • Export certification
  • Private-label and further-processing production for foodservice, retail, and distributors
  • On-site retail market (Wyshbone Market)
  • Online ordering through Dakota44 and Wyshbone Market, as described on the website

Species under inspection

turkeys

Products and retail

  • Turkey products
  • Sliced turkey
  • Sliced chicken
  • Sliced ham
  • Sliced beef
  • Frozen items
  • Specialty meats
  • Bulk packs sold through South Dakota retail outlets and online

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record reports no custom-exempt activity at this establishment, and the website does not describe custom slaughter or processing for outside farmers bringing their own animals. Birds are sourced from the company's own network of 44 grower-owned family farms, described as located within three hours of the plant and GAP certified, with transport in custom-designed crates and a hands-off loading process. Farmers interested in the grower-owner structure or supply arrangements would need to contact the company at (605) 352-1519 or (888) 384-5521, as listed.

Dakota Provisions LLC operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

For households

The website states that Wyshbone Market has served Dakota Provisions employees and the public since April 2012, stocking fresh sliced turkey, chicken, ham, and beef along with a selection of frozen items in two large coolers and freezers. The site also references bulk sales through local South Dakota retail outlets and online ordering at Dakota44 and Wyshbone Market, with recyclable-ready packaging and biodegradable, compost-ready shipping materials for online orders. Retail hours, prices, and shipping areas are not stated in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Dakota Provisions LLC

Does Dakota Provisions process animals for individual farmers?
Not according to the record. FSIS reports no custom-exempt activity, and the website describes sourcing exclusively from its network of 44 grower-owned family farms.
What species are slaughtered here?
Poultry is the only species reported slaughtered under inspection. The plant also holds meat processing and meat identification activity, and the website lists beef, ham, and specialty meat products among its offerings.
Can households buy meat directly?
The website states Wyshbone Market has served the public since April 2012 with fresh sliced turkey, chicken, ham, and beef plus frozen items, and references online ordering through Dakota44 and Wyshbone Market. Retail hours and prices are not stated.
Is the plant certified for export?
FSIS lists export certification among its activities, which means the establishment is set up for export certification work.

Federal record

Activities
Certification - Export; Identification - Meat; Identification - Poultry; Meat Processing; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter
Grant on file
December 27, 2021
Size class
Large
Slaughter volume
Large volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://dakotaprovisions.com/, https://dakotaprovisions.com/about-us/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Huron