Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47580EST. V47580

Farm Creek Meats, LLC

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant on a Duchesne County farm, with bison snack sticks sold online.

7454 S Highway 87, Duchesne, Utah 84021 · Duchesne County

farmcreekmeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·FSIS Very Small establishment with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, bison, and elk or deer under inspection.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·On-farm facility built by the ranchers who raise the animals, per the company website.
  • ·Online store sells 100% bison snack sticks at $39.90; biltong is described on the site.

About Farm Creek Meats, LLC

Farm Creek Meats, LLC operates at 7454 S Highway 87 in Duchesne, Utah, under FSIS establishment numbers M47580 and V47580. The federal record lists meat slaughter and meat processing along with voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing of meat, with a grant of inspection dated March 23, 2023. FSIS classes the plant as Very Small and places it in slaughter volume category 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, bison, and elk or deer. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes the plant as a farm-based facility built by two ranchers, Doug Reid and Bjorn Carlson, who say they began raising and direct-marketing meat and in 2020 decided to build their own processing facility after problems with outside processors, including incorrect cuts, packaging that did not stay sealed, improper aging, and difficulty getting processing slots. The facility was built in an unused building on Reid's land. According to the site, Carlson and his family raise beef, pork, and lamb, and Reid raises bison, beef, and pork, all on pasture without hormones or antibiotics, with the farm growing the grass and hay for cattle and bison and sourcing local feed for hogs.

Retail activity shown on the website is an online store selling 100% bison snack sticks in Original, Honey BBQ, and 7 Pepper, listed at $39.90, described as 1.4 ounce sticks with 21 grams of protein, about 100 calories, gluten free, no MSG, and no soy. The site also describes biltong prepared using South African methods, air-cured and hand-sliced, and says a Teriyaki formulation is in development to be fully soy and gluten free. The website does not state hours, custom processing rates, booking procedures, or whether halves and quarters are sold. Details beyond the federal record and these website statements are not yet on file.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing of meat (bison, elk or deer)
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing, packages marked Not for Sale
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Further processing into snack sticks and biltong
  • Online ordering and shipping of shelf-stable snack products

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssheeplambsbisonelkyak

Products and retail

  • 100% bison snack sticks, Original
  • 100% bison snack sticks, Honey BBQ
  • 100% bison snack sticks, 7 Pepper
  • Biltong, air-dried and hand-sliced
  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Lamb
  • Bison

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows the establishment reports both USDA-inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter, so animals owned by a customer can be processed with packages marked Not for Sale. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, bison, and elk or deer, and the plant falls in the smallest FSIS slaughter volume category, under 1,000 head per year. The website does not state booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill fees, cut and wrap charges, aging schedules, or whether outside livestock are accepted at all, since the site presents the facility as built to process the owners' own animals. Farmers should call (435) 738-6328 to confirm availability, as listed.

Farm Creek Meats, LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Household buyers can order 100% bison snack sticks through the website's online store, listed at $39.90 for Original, Honey BBQ, and 7 Pepper, each described as a 1.4 ounce stick with 21 grams of protein, roughly 100 calories, gluten free, no MSG, and no soy. Biltong is described on the site but not listed with a price. The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, but the website does not describe a retail counter, store hours, halves or quarters, bundles, or local delivery. Shipping information is referenced in the store's terms of service but specific rates and regions are not stated.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Farm Creek Meats, LLC

Does Farm Creek Meats process animals for other farmers?
The federal record shows the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning animals owned by the customer can be processed with packages marked Not for Sale. The website does not state whether outside livestock are accepted, or list booking steps, minimums, or fees. Call (435) 738-6328 to confirm.
What species can be slaughtered here under inspection?
Cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, bison, and elk or deer are reported to FSIS. Bison and elk or deer fall under the plant's voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing activities.
Can households buy meat directly?
The website's online store lists 100% bison snack sticks in three flavors at $39.90, and describes biltong. The plant also reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. A retail counter, store hours, and sales of halves or quarters are not stated on the site.
Is the plant halal, kosher, or certified organic?
No such certification is stated in the federal record or on the website. The website states the animals are raised on pasture without hormones or antibiotics, and that products are gluten free with no MSG and no soy.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
March 23, 2023
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://farmcreekmeats.com/, https://farmcreekmeats.com/pages/about) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Duchesne