Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M3040

Food Ranch Farms

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Orangeville, Utah, serving cattle, hogs, sheep, and goats.

355 East Sr 29, Orangeville, Utah 84537 · Emery County

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·FSIS establishment M3040, listed for both meat slaughter and meat processing.
  • ·Grant of inspection date on file is February 11, 2025.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats under inspection.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Very small plant, reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.

About Food Ranch Farms

Food Ranch Farms is a very small USDA-inspected establishment at 355 East Sr 29 in Orangeville, Emery County, Utah, operating under establishment number M3040. The federal record lists both meat slaughter and meat processing activities, with a grant of inspection date on file of February 11, 2025. Species reported to FSIS for slaughter under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats.

The plant reports a slaughter volume category of 1.0, meaning fewer than 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales. A website appears under the name Food Ranch, which describes Food Ranch Farms as a USDA-certified processor offering local beef, and search listings also reference a Food Ranch convenience store in Orangeville near Joe's Valley. No website text is on file for this registry entry.

Beyond the federal record and those brief secondary references, details such as hours, pricing, booking lead times, cut and wrap options, ownership, and founding date are not yet on file. Buyers and producers should contact the plant directly at (435) 748-2725 to confirm what is currently offered.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing, packages marked Not for Sale
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssheeplambsgoats

Products and retail

  • Local beef (as described on the Food Ranch website)

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists Food Ranch Farms as conducting both slaughter and processing under inspection, with cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats among the species slaughtered. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, so producers can have animals they own processed with packages marked Not for Sale. FSIS classifies the plant as very small, with a reported slaughter volume of under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, drop-off requirements, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in any source on file. Producers should call (435) 748-2725 to confirm availability as listed.

Food Ranch Farms reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which allows direct sales of meat to household customers. A website under the Food Ranch name describes Food Ranch Farms as a USDA-certified processor offering local beef. Whether the plant operates a retail counter, sells halves and quarters or bundles, or offers delivery, shipping, or online ordering is not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Food Ranch Farms

What species does this plant slaughter?
The federal record lists cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats as species slaughtered under inspection.
Can I bring my own animal for custom processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Booking steps, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Can households buy meat directly?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales, and a website under the Food Ranch name describes it as a USDA-certified processor offering local beef. Retail hours, bundles, and shipping are not stated in the sources on file.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in any source on file. The listed phone number is (435) 748-2725.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
February 11, 2025
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Orangeville