Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M1950

Provident Meat Company

USDA-inspected beef and lamb slaughter and processing in Fillmore, Utah, with online drop-off scheduling.

1000 S 3200 W, Fillmore, Utah 84631 · Millard County

providentmeat.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Slaughters cattle and sheep and lamb under federal inspection, FSIS Very Small class, under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Posted kill fees and a $0.90 per pound hanging weight processing rate for beef and lamb.
  • ·Online scheduler for drop-off appointments, with brand inspection and a cut sheet completed at drop-off.
  • ·Beef dry aged 14 to 21 days, per the website.
  • ·Retail orders are picked up at the Fillmore location; no shipping is described.

About Provident Meat Company

Provident Meat Company operates at 1000 S 3200 W in Fillmore, Millard County, Utah, under USDA establishment number M1950. The federal record lists both meat slaughter and meat processing activities, with cattle and sheep and lamb reported as the species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classes the plant as Very Small and places its slaughter volume in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year. The grant of inspection date on file is January 16, 2025. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes a workflow it calls From Field to Freezer: customers make an online appointment to choose a drop-off time, bring the animal to the facility during that window for brand inspection and fill out a cut sheet, then receive a call or email when the meat is ready. The site asks that meat be picked up within five days and that customers arrive at least 30 minutes before closing. The site states a dry aging process lasting 14 to 21 days for beef, and describes the mission as providing meat processing services to the rural community and supporting local farmers and ranchers.

Aaron and Dana Rees are identified on the website as the owners and operators. They state they met and married in 2003, have five children, and have lived and worked on ranches and feedlots in Kansas, Nebraska, Wyoming, Colorado and Utah. They entered the meat cutting business in 2020 in order to butcher their own cattle and offer that service to other local people and ranchers. Hours are not stated in the material on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Beef and lamb slaughter
  • Dry aging of beef, 14 to 21 days
  • Online appointment scheduling for drop-off
  • Cut sheet ordering
  • Brand inspection at drop-off
  • Retail store with pickup at the Fillmore facility

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowslambs

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Lamb
  • Bacon

For farmers and ranchers

The website directs producers to use the online scheduler to select a drop-off time, bring the animal to the Fillmore facility during that window for brand inspection, and complete a cut sheet. Posted fees for domestic animals are a beef kill fee of $100 for animals under 800 lbs, $125 for 801 to 999 lbs, and $150 for 1,000 lbs and over, plus $12 for brand fees, with processing at $0.90 per pound hanging weight. Lamb is listed at a $50 kill fee at any weight plus $0.90 per pound hanging weight. Customers are notified by call or email when meat is ready and are asked to arrange pickup within five days, arriving at least 30 minutes before closing. The plant reports both federally inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, so producers should confirm which applies to their animals. Booking lead times and minimums are not stated in the sources on file.

Provident Meat Company reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website includes a Shop Meat section and a retail store page, and states that all orders placed will be picked up at the store in Fillmore at 1000 S 3200 W. One retail item visible in the sources is bacon at $6.50 per pound or $85 per case of 15 pounds. The site says the operation offers beef that has been dry aged 14 to 21 days. Delivery, shipping, and sales of halves or quarters are not described in the material on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Provident Meat Company

What species does the plant slaughter?
The federal record reports cattle and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection. Other species are not listed.
What does processing cost?
The website lists a beef kill fee of $100 under 800 lbs, $125 for 801 to 999 lbs, and $150 for 1,000 lbs and up, plus $12 in brand fees, and a lamb kill fee of $50 at any weight. Processing is listed at $0.90 per pound hanging weight for both. Prices are as posted on the site and may change.
Can I buy meat directly, or does everything have to come from my own animal?
Both are described. The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, and the website has a Shop Meat and retail store section with pickup at the Fillmore address. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, where the customer owns the animal and packages are marked Not for Sale.
What are the hours, and how soon must meat be picked up?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The website asks customers to pick up meat within five days of notification and to arrive at least 30 minutes before closing.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
January 16, 2025
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.providentmeat.com/, https://www.providentmeat.com/shop-meat) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Fillmore