Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M8496

Central Meat Packing

USDA-inspected hog slaughter and meat processing in Chesapeake, Virginia, with a butcher shop at the same address.

1120 Kempsville Road, Chesapeake, Virginia 23320-8127 · Chesapeake city

centralmeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·USDA establishment M8496, listed for both meat slaughter and meat processing
  • ·Hogs reported as the species slaughtered under inspection
  • ·Custom-exempt slaughter reported, for customer-owned animals marked Not for Sale
  • ·FSIS size class Very Small, under 1,000 head slaughtered per year
  • ·Grant of inspection on file since 1985; secondary listings describe a butcher shop and catering at the same address

About Central Meat Packing

Central Meat Packing operates at 1120 Kempsville Road in Chesapeake, Virginia, under USDA establishment number M8496. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with hogs reported as the species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the establishment as Very Small, and its slaughter volume category is 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The grant of inspection on file dates to February 13, 1985.

The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it handles animals owned by the customer and returns the meat in packages marked Not for Sale. That is the arrangement a farmer or family uses when the meat is going back to the owner rather than into commerce.

Search results for the same address describe Central Meats as a full service butcher shop in the Great Bridge area of Chesapeake, offering fresh meats, sausage, and catering, with a listed website at centralmeats.com. No website text was available for this record, so hours, booking practices, cut and wrap terms, pricing, and ownership are not yet on file beyond what the federal record and those brief listings state.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals
  • Retail butcher shop at the same address (per secondary listings)
  • Catering (per secondary listings)

Species under inspection

hogs

Products and retail

  • Fresh meats including beef, chicken, and pork (per secondary listings)
  • Sausage
  • Jerky
  • Sausage making supplies

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists Central Meat Packing for meat slaughter and meat processing, with hogs reported as the species slaughtered under inspection, and notes that the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter for animals owned by the customer, returned in packages marked Not for Sale. Reported slaughter volume is under 1,000 head per year and FSIS lists the establishment as Very Small. Booking lead times, drop-off scheduling, minimums, kill fees, cut and wrap charges, and whether species other than hogs are handled are not stated in the sources on file. A farmer should call (757) 547-2161 to confirm what is being accepted, as listed.

Central Meat Packing reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Secondary listings for the same address describe Central Meats as a full service butcher shop in the Great Bridge area of Chesapeake offering fresh meats, sausage, jerky, sausage making supplies, and catering. Whether the shop sells halves or quarters, assembles freezer bundles, ships, or takes online orders is not stated in the sources on file, and no hours or prices are on record here.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Central Meat Packing

What animals does this plant slaughter?
The federal record reports hogs as the species slaughtered under inspection. Other species are not listed in the sources on file.
Can I bring my own hog for processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which covers animals owned by the customer, with the returned meat packaged and marked Not for Sale. Scheduling, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file, so call (757) 547-2161 to confirm.
Is there a retail counter?
Search listings for 1120 Kempsville Road describe Central Meats as a full service butcher shop offering fresh meats, sausage, jerky, and catering. Hours, prices, and whether bulk or bundle options exist are not on file.
How large is the operation?
FSIS classifies it as Very Small, with a slaughter volume category of 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
February 13, 1985
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Chesapeake