Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M21700B

Island Grown Farmer's Cooperative

Farmer-owned cooperative in Burlington offering USDA-inspected slaughter, cut and wrap, plus a retail shop.

11719 Westar Lane, Burlington, Washington 98233 · Skagit County

igfcmeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptWSDA custom exempt inspection program, per the websiteCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Farmer-owned cooperative operating since 2002, now serving farmers across western Washington.
  • ·Both USDA-inspected and custom-exempt slaughter and processing are reported.
  • ·Very Small FSIS size class with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Onsite retail butcher shop, NW Local Meats, sells cuts and quarter or half beef.
  • ·Website lists goat and veal in addition to the cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported to FSIS.

About Island Grown Farmer's Cooperative

Island Grown Farmers Cooperative (establishment M21700B) operates a slaughter and processing plant at 11719 Westar Lane in Burlington, Skagit County, Washington. The plant reports Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing activities to FSIS, is classed Very Small, and lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb among species slaughtered under inspection. Its slaughter volume category is 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The grant of inspection date on file is September 12, 2022. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

According to the cooperative's website, IGFC was founded in 2002 by small, independent livestock producers, initially to support farming in the San Juan Islands by providing local slaughter, butchering, and packaging, and it now serves farmers across western Washington. The site describes a slaughter, processing, and cut and wrap facility in the Skagit Valley, referred to as a USDA-approved Livestock Processing Center, with humane on-site harvesting. The website states the operation works under USDA and WSDA custom exempt inspection programs and lists beef, pork, lamb, goat, and veal. Goat and veal appear on the website but are not among the species listed in the federal record.

An onsite retail outlet, NW Local Meats, is described as a full-service butcher shop selling pasture-raised beef, pork, lamb, and goat from small family farms in San Juan, Island, Skagit, and Whatcom Counties. Cut sheets for beef and for pork, lamb, and goat are posted on the website. Scheduling is by phone or email, as listed.

Services

  • Livestock slaughter under USDA inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Meat processing
  • Cut and wrap
  • Primal processing and retail cuts
  • Value-added products including bulk and link sausage and patties
  • Vacuum-sealed, retail-ready packaging
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Onsite retail butcher shop (NW Local Meats)
  • Guidance on cut selection for first-time customers

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Individual steaks
  • Chops
  • Roasts
  • Patties
  • Sausage links and bulk sausage
  • Ground meat
  • Quarter and half bulk beef
  • Customized bulk packages
  • Beef, pork, lamb, and goat from local farms

Hours as listed

Retail shop: Tuesday to Friday 10am to 5pm, Saturday 10am to 3pm, Sunday and Monday closed.

For farmers and ranchers

The cooperative describes itself as farmer-owned and farmer-focused, founded in 2002 by small independent livestock producers, and states it is open to all. Scheduling starts with a phone call or email; the site notes it was actively booking June through September harvest dates with some in-fill dates in June, and says experienced customers are scheduled quickly while first-time customers are guided through the process and cut selection. Services listed include easy scheduling and drop-off, start-to-finish USDA and WSDA custom exempt inspected work, harvesting and butchering of beef, pork, lamb, goat, and veal, value-added products, vacuum-sealed retail-ready packaging, and fast turnaround. Beef and pork, lamb, goat cut sheets are posted online. Federal records list cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection, and the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter with Not for Sale packaging. Minimums, fees, and per-pound rates are not stated in the sources on file.

Island Grown Farmer's Cooperative reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The onsite retail outlet, NW Local Meats, is described as a full-service butcher shop offering locally pastured beef, pork, lamb, and goat from small family farms in San Juan, Island, Skagit, and Whatcom Counties, with grass or grain finished options. Listed offerings include individual steaks, chops, roasts, patties, links, ground, quarter or half bulk beef, and customized bulk packages. Online ordering, delivery, and shipping are not mentioned in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Island Grown Farmer's Cooperative

What species are handled here?
The federal record lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection. The website additionally describes harvesting and butchering of goat and veal.
Can a farmer sell the meat processed here?
The plant holds a USDA grant of inspection (Est. M21700B), which supports meat that can be sold, and also reports custom-exempt slaughter, where meat is returned to the animal's owner in packages marked Not for Sale. The website notes many customers maintain their own sales outlets and wholesale distribution channels.
How is processing scheduled?
The website says scheduling starts with a call or email, and that first-time customers are guided through the process and cut selection. Beef and pork, lamb, goat cut sheets are posted online. Availability changes, so dates should be confirmed directly with the plant.
Are prices, minimums, or shipping available?
Prices, minimums, hanging weight fees, and any delivery or shipping options are not stated in the sources on file.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
September 12, 2022
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://igfcmeats.com/, https://www.igfcmeats.com/about-burington-wa-meat-processing) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Burlington