Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M34283EST. P34283EST. V34283

Custom Meats of Marathon, Inc.

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Marathon, Wisconsin, with a retail meat market.

1300 Hwy 107 South, Marathon, Wisconsin 54448 · Marathon County

custommeatsinc.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSISOwner listed as a graduate of the Master Meat Crafter Program

At a glance

  • ·FSIS-inspected for meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry processing and voluntary meat slaughter and processing.
  • ·Reports cattle, hog, and sheep and lamb slaughter under inspection at under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Posted per-pound custom processing price lists for beef, pork and lamb, plus beef and pork sides by the whole, half, front, hind or split half.
  • ·Year-round venison and wild game processing with a $50.00 non-refundable deposit at drop-off; orders not picked up within 60 days of completion are donated to a food pantry.
  • ·Website states bear, whole or trim, is no longer processed.

About Custom Meats of Marathon, Inc.

Custom Meats of Marathon, Inc. operates at 1300 Hwy 107 South in Marathon, Wisconsin, in Marathon County. The plant holds federal establishment numbers M34283, P34283 and V34283, with FSIS activities listed as meat processing, meat slaughter, poultry processing, voluntary processing of meat and voluntary slaughter of meat. The grant of inspection date on file is July 26, 2021. FSIS classifies the establishment as small and reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection, with a slaughter volume category of 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The company website states the business was founded in 1989 by Dale Heise after the local meat market in Marathon City closed, and that his son Tom Heise joined about six months later and remains an owner. The site describes the business as locally owned and operated and says staffing has grown from three employees to seventeen. The site states that in 2007 the operation became a USDA-headquartered facility with an inspector stationed in the building and that nothing is cut or processed without an inspector present. Tom Heise is described as a graduate of the Master Meat Crafter Program. The site lists a series of state association sausage and ham competition placings between 2001 and 2017, including the 2010 D.R. Buege Award of Excellence for sausage products, and notes the business chaired the Wisconsin Association of Meat Processors in 2011.

The website advertises custom processing of beef, pork and lamb with posted per-pound and per-head fees, sales of beef and pork by the whole, half, front, hind or split half, year-round wild game and venison processing, and gift boxes. The site refers to high-quality chicken, veal, beef, pork and lamb, consistent with the poultry processing activity in the federal record, though poultry slaughter is not among the species FSIS lists as slaughtered under inspection here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Voluntary processing and voluntary slaughter of meat
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Cutting, wrapping and freezing
  • Smoking, slicing and curing
  • Sausage making
  • Venison and wild game processing
  • Retail meat market
  • Gift boxes

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogslambs

Products and retail

  • Beef, including patties, cube steak and stew meat
  • Pork, including hams, seasoned pork tubes, brats, links, sausage patties, cheddarwurst, weiners and kielbasa
  • Lamb, including ground lamb, stew meat, brats and links
  • Bratwurst
  • Summer sausage
  • Braunschweiger liver sausage
  • Smoked kielbasa or Polish sausage
  • Snack sausages
  • Breakfast sausage links
  • Boneless ham
  • Chicken and veal (listed on website)
  • Venison and wild game sausage and burger
  • Gift boxes

Hours as listed

Mon - Fri 8:00 am - 5:00 pm; Saturday 8:00 am - 12:00 pm; Sunday closed, as listed on the website.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection, and also reports custom-exempt slaughter for animals owned by the customer, with packages marked Not for Sale. The website posts custom processing fees: beef at $95.00 slaughter plus hide, $0.98 per pound cutting, wrapping and freezing, $1.00 per pound patties, $0.75 per pound cube steak and $0.75 per pound stew meat. Pork is listed at $55.00 slaughter, $0.98 per pound cutting, wrapping and freezing, $0.89 per pound smoking, $0.50 per pound slicing, $2.00 per ham packaging, and various sausage rates, some with a 10 pound minimum, with ground pork included. Lamb is listed at $55.00 slaughter, $0.99 per pound cutting, wrapping and freezing, plus brats and links, with ground lamb included. Cutting instruction sheets are offered for beef, lamb and pork. FSIS lists annual slaughter volume as under 1,000 head. Booking lead times, drop-off days and scheduling policies for livestock are not stated in the sources.

Custom Meats of Marathon, Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website lists beef and pork sold by the side: beef whole at $5.49, half at $5.59, front at $5.75, hind at $5.99 and split half at $5.69, and pork whole at $2.39 and half at $2.49, with cutting instruction sheets available. The business describes itself as a neighborhood butcher and quality meat market offering chicken, veal, beef, pork and lamb, and sells gift boxes described as a popular option for gifts and raffles. The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Online ordering, delivery and shipping are not mentioned in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Custom Meats of Marathon, Inc.

Can I bring my own animal for slaughter and processing?
Yes, as listed. The federal record shows meat slaughter under inspection for cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, and reports custom-exempt slaughter in which the customer owns the animal and packages are marked Not for Sale. The website posts slaughter and cut, wrap and freeze fees for beef, pork and lamb. Scheduling requirements and booking lead times are not stated in the sources.
Does the plant process deer and other wild game?
The website states it offers year-round wild game processing and accepts only clean game, inspected at drop-off and during processing, with a $50.00 non-refundable deposit required. It states bear is no longer processed, whole or trim, and that pork is added to venison sausage. It also states CWD testing cannot be done at the facility.
Can a household buy meat here without owning an animal?
The website describes a meat market with chicken, veal, beef, pork and lamb, lists prices for whole and half beef and pork, and offers gift boxes. The plant also reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Delivery, shipping and online ordering are not mentioned in the sources.
Is poultry slaughtered at this location?
FSIS lists poultry processing as an activity and assigns poultry establishment number P34283, but the species listed as slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The website mentions chicken among the meats offered. Poultry slaughter is not confirmed in the sources.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
July 26, 2021
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.custommeatsinc.com/, https://www.custommeatsinc.com/about-us) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Marathon