Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47484EST. P47484EST. V47484

The Durand Smokehouse LLC

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant with a retail butcher counter on Highway 85 in Durand, Wisconsin.

W5823 State Hwy 85, Durand, Wisconsin 54736 · Pepin County

thedurandsmokehouse.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for meat slaughter and processing, plus voluntary processing, FSIS size class Very Small.
  • ·Reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Handles both custom-exempt work for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Two locations listed, Durand on Highway 85 and Woodville on River St., with some products limited to one store.
  • ·Cut sheets can be attached to the website contact form or sent by email ahead of drop-off.

About The Durand Smokehouse LLC

The Durand Smokehouse LLC operates at W5823 State Hwy 85 in Durand, Pepin County, Wisconsin. The plant holds establishment numbers M47484, P47484 and V47484, with a grant of inspection date on file of July 23, 2021, and is listed by FSIS as Very Small. Reported FSIS activities are meat processing, meat slaughter and voluntary processing of meat. The plant reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, and its FSIS slaughter volume category is 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.

The business website describes the operation as a small-town, full-service butcher shop on the banks of the Chippewa River, selling fresh cut meats, locally processed beef and pork, and sausages the site describes as award winning. The site states that the current owners purchased the business in 2011 after 34 years in the custom meat business. A second location is listed at 124 River St. in Woodville, Wisconsin, with its own phone number, and many products on the site are flagged as available at one location or the other.

Product listings on the website cover beef, pork, venison, lamb, goat, bison, poultry, sausages, snack sticks, lunch meats, summer sausage, heat and eat items, grab and go meals, seafood, dog items and grocery and pantry goods. The site names locally raised bison from Rattlesnake Ridge Bison and Painted Outlaw grass fed and finished beef, the latter listed as available at the Woodville location only.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Voluntary processing, meat
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Retail butcher counter
  • Smoking and curing
  • Sausage, brat, snack stick and summer sausage making
  • Wild game processing (venison)
  • Cut sheet submission by email or website form

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Ground beef in 1 and 1 1/2 lb tubes
  • Beef steaks including ribeye, New York strip, T-bone, porterhouse, sirloin, filet mignon
  • Dry aged steaks
  • Beef patties in several flavors
  • Beef roasts, brisket flats, tri-tip, prime rib roast
  • Bacon, including thick, regular, garlic, cinnamon pepper and natural cure
  • Smoked bone-in and boneless hams, ham steak
  • Pork chops, smoked pork chops, shoulder steaks, tenderloin, ribs, pork butt
  • Brats in many flavors, including cheddar garden brat, Durand beer brat, dill pickle brat
  • Snack sticks and jerky
  • Franks and wieners, including Butches Franks
  • Kielbasa, smoked polish, cheddarwurst, andouille
  • Summer sausage, including beef, German, garlic, bison and cheddar cranberry
  • Bologna and lunch meats, braunschweiger, smoked capicola
  • Venison brats, sausages, snack sticks, venison bacon, whole cured and smoked leg
  • Lamb roast, chops, shanks, ground lamb, gyro meat
  • Goat cuts (seasonal)
  • Ground bison, bison snack sticks, bison summer sausage
  • Marinated and bone-in chicken, ground chicken and turkey, stuffed chicken breasts
  • Grab and go meals including lasagna, mac and cheese, meat loaf
  • Seafood including cod, salmon, shrimp
  • Dog bones, smoked pig ears, suet
  • Pantry goods including seasonings, salsa, jams, maple syrup, honey, coffee
  • Grilling pellets

Hours as listed

Mon-Wed: 8am to 5pm; Thurs-Fri: 8am to 6pm; Sat: 8am to 1pm (as listed on the website)

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both federally inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, covering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, at a volume under 1,000 head per year. The website states that orders can be sent by email and the meat dropped off later, or placed in person at the shop, and the contact form includes an attachment field for a completed cut sheet. Booking windows, scheduling lead times, kill day fees, hanging weight charges and cut and wrap pricing are not stated in the sources on file.

The Durand Smokehouse LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website lists an extensive retail selection at the Durand shop, with fresh cut beef, pork, poultry, lamb, goat, bison, sausages, smoked items, heat and eat entrees, seafood and grocery and pantry goods, and notes that certain items are stocked only at the Durand or the Woodville location. Beef and pork bundles and ground beef bundles are listed. The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Halves and quarters, delivery, shipping and online checkout are not described in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about The Durand Smokehouse LLC

Does The Durand Smokehouse slaughter animals, or only process them?
Both, as listed. FSIS records meat slaughter, meat processing and voluntary meat processing activities for this establishment, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection.
Can a farmer have an animal processed for personal use?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling requirements, minimums and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Are there retail hours for household buyers?
The website lists Monday through Wednesday 8am to 5pm, Thursday and Friday 8am to 6pm, and Saturday 8am to 1pm. Hours can change, so callers should confirm at (715) 672-8073.
Does the shop process wild game such as deer?
The website lists a venison product line, including fresh brats, sausages, snack sticks, venison bacon and cured and smoked whole legs. Season dates, drop-off procedures and game processing prices are not stated in the sources on file.
Is the plant halal, kosher or certified organic?
No such certification is stated in the federal record or on the website. Only the USDA FSIS grant of inspection is documented.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat
Grant on file
July 23, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://thedurandsmokehouse.com/, https://thedurandsmokehouse.com/about) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Durand