Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M46233EST. P46233

University of Wisconsin River Falls

Doing business as Falcon Foods; Falcon Premium Meats

University-operated USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in River Falls, Wisconsin.

College of Animal and Food Science 410 S 3rd Street, River Falls, Wisconsin 54022 · Pierce County

Facebook page

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·USDA grant of inspection dated April 28, 2021, for meat slaughter and meat processing.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Very small FSIS size class, with reported slaughter under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Offers custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale.
  • ·Located on the University of Wisconsin River Falls campus and operated as Falcon Foods and Falcon Premium Meats.

About University of Wisconsin River Falls

University of Wisconsin River Falls operates a USDA-inspected meat plant at the College of Animal and Food Science, 410 S 3rd Street, River Falls, Wisconsin, in Pierce County. It does business as Falcon Foods and Falcon Premium Meats and holds establishment numbers M46233 and P46233 for meat processing and meat slaughter. The grant of inspection on file is dated April 28, 2021.

The establishment reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection. FSIS classes it as very small, with a reported slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

The only website on file is the university's general Facebook page, and no plant-specific website text was available. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking practices, product lists, and retail arrangements, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under USDA inspection
  • Meat processing under USDA inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersdairy cowshogssheeplambs

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both USDA-inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb listed as species slaughtered under inspection. Reported volume is under 1,000 head per year, which places it in the smallest FSIS volume category. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, minimums, kill and cut fees, hanging time, and cut and wrap options are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should contact the plant at (715) 425-3923 to confirm what species and dates are being taken, as listed.

University of Wisconsin River Falls reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales, which indicates some direct sale of product, and it does business under the names Falcon Foods and Falcon Premium Meats. The sources on file do not state retail counter hours, whether halves and quarters or bundles are sold, or whether delivery, shipping, or online ordering is offered. Households should call (715) 425-3923 to ask what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about University of Wisconsin River Falls

What species can be slaughtered here?
The establishment reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under federal inspection.
Can a farmer bring an animal for personal use?
Yes, in principle. The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale. Scheduling, fees, and minimums are not stated in the sources on file.
Is there a retail store, and what are the hours?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales, but no retail hours, product list, or store details are stated in the sources on file.
Does the plant ship or deliver?
Not stated. The sources on file do not mention delivery, shipping, or online ordering.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
April 28, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near River Falls