Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M2018A

The Grain Bin Butchery & Market, LLC

USDA-inspected cattle and hog slaughter and processing in Prairie Farm, Wisconsin, with a market in Boyceville.

106 South Road W., Prairie Farm, Wisconsin 54762 · Barron County

grainbin.shop

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for both slaughter and processing, establishment number M2018A
  • ·Cattle and hogs slaughtered under inspection, under 1,000 head per year
  • ·Custom-exempt processing reported to FSIS in addition to inspected work
  • ·FSIS address is Prairie Farm; the website's visiting address and hours are for Boyceville
  • ·Combined operation with a bulk food store and quilt shop per the website

About The Grain Bin Butchery & Market, LLC

The Grain Bin Butchery & Market, LLC operates under USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service establishment number M2018A at 106 South Road W. in Prairie Farm, Barron County, Wisconsin. The federal record lists the plant for Meat Processing and Meat Slaughter, classifies it as Very Small, and shows a grant of inspection dated May 22, 2025. Species slaughtered under inspection are reported as cattle and hogs, with a slaughter volume category of 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The establishment also reports custom-exempt processing.

The company website presents the business as The Grain Bin Butchery & Market, offering custom meat processing along with a bulk food store and a quilt shop. The site states that custom meat processing is now offered and directs customers to contact Aron or Jason to schedule a processing date. The site's listed visiting address and hours are for a location at E4548 County Rd FF in Boyceville, Wisconsin, which differs from the Prairie Farm address on file with FSIS. A Facebook listing associated with the business describes a retail meat counter and mobile butcher service along with custom exempt meats, bulk foods, and quilting.

The market side of the business is described on the website as carrying a selection of goods, including Milkhouse Candles, goat soap from EB Ranch, hand-made cookie mix in a jar, and Taste and See Creamery cheese curds delivered fresh on Fridays. The site refers customers to walnutcreekfoods.com and dutchvalleyfoods.com for items that can be ordered in. Details on cut and wrap options, pricing, minimums, and lead times are not on file beyond what is stated here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt processing
  • Custom meat processing scheduled by appointment
  • Retail meat counter (per Facebook listing)
  • Mobile butcher service (per Facebook listing)
  • Bulk food store
  • Quilt shop

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersdairy cowshogs

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Cheese curds from Taste and See Creamery
  • Bulk foods
  • Candles and goat soap
  • Cookie mix in a jar
  • Quilting fabric and kits

Hours as listed

Website lists daily hours for the Boyceville location: Tue 8:00am to 6:00pm, Wed 8:00am to 6:00pm, Thu 8:00am to 6:00pm, Fri 8:00am to 6:00pm, Sat 8:00am to 5:00pm, Sun 8:00am to 5:00pm. Monday is not listed.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports cattle and hog slaughter under federal inspection to FSIS, at a volume category of under 1,000 head per year, and also reports custom-exempt processing. The website instructs producers to contact Aron or Jason at (715) 632-2800 or GBBMLLC@GMAIL.COM to schedule a processing date. Note the address discrepancy: the FSIS record lists 106 South Road W. in Prairie Farm, while the website's visit address is E4548 County Rd FF in Boyceville. Booking windows, kill days, hanging fees, cut and wrap charges, and carcass minimums are not stated in the sources on file. Availability of dates should be confirmed directly.

The Grain Bin Butchery & Market, LLC reports custom-exempt processing to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

A Facebook listing for the business describes a retail meat counter alongside custom exempt meats and bulk foods. The website describes a market carrying bulk foods, cheese curds delivered fresh each Friday, candles, goat soap, and cookie mixes, plus a quilt shop with fabric and kits. Sales of halves and quarters, freezer bundles, online ordering, delivery, and shipping are not mentioned in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about The Grain Bin Butchery & Market, LLC

What animals does this plant slaughter?
The federal record reports cattle and hogs slaughtered under inspection. No other species are listed.
How do I schedule processing?
The website says to contact Aron or Jason at (715) 632-2800 or GBBMLLC@GMAIL.COM to schedule a processing date. Available dates, deposits, and lead times are not stated in the sources.
Which address should I go to?
The plant reports 106 South Road W., Prairie Farm, WI 54762 to FSIS. Its website lists a visiting address of E4548 County Rd FF, Boyceville, WI 54725, with the posted hours. Confirm by phone which location handles drop-off.
Can I buy meat directly from them?
A Facebook listing associated with the business describes a retail meat counter, and the website describes a market with bulk foods and other goods. Specific cuts, bundles, halves or quarters, and shipping are not stated in the sources on file.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
May 22, 2025
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/fsis-inspected-establishments/grain-bin-butchery-market-llc-0, https://www.grainbin.shop/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Prairie Farm