Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M1361

VPP Group, LLC

USDA-inspected beef slaughter and processing plant in Norwalk, Wisconsin, family owned since 1985.

19081 Highway 71 East, Norwalk, Wisconsin 54648 · Monroe County

vppbeef.com

USDA inspectedGFSI certified, per the company websitePAACO certified staff for humane handling, per the company website

At a glance

  • ·FSIS establishment M1361, grant of inspection dated July 23, 2021
  • ·Cattle are the only species reported slaughtered under inspection
  • ·FSIS small size class, slaughter volume category 3.0
  • ·Company states USDA inspectors are on site daily and that it holds GFSI certification
  • ·No custom-exempt activity reported to FSIS

About VPP Group, LLC

VPP Group, LLC operates a beef slaughter and processing plant at 19081 Highway 71 East in Norwalk, Monroe County, Wisconsin. The establishment holds USDA FSIS establishment number M1361 with a grant of inspection dated July 23, 2021, and is listed under both meat slaughter and meat processing activities. FSIS classifies the plant as small and reports cattle as the only species slaughtered under inspection. Its FSIS slaughter volume category is 3.0, placing it above the smallest tier of plants that handle under 1,000 head per year.

The company website describes the business as founded in 1985 and family owned and operated in Norwalk for nearly four decades, run as a multi-generational business focused on beef processing. The site states that USDA inspectors are on site daily, that the plant is GFSI certified under the Global Food Safety Initiative, and that its team includes PAACO certified professionals trained in humane handling and animal welfare standards. A third party business listing gives a founding year of 2005, which conflicts with the 1985 date the company states on its own About page.

The website does not describe a retail counter, custom or exempt processing for individual farm customers, specific cuts or product lines, pricing, or scheduling terms. No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS. Details beyond the federal record and the general company description above are not yet on file.

Services

  • Beef slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection

Species under inspection

beef cattlebullsdairy cows

Products and retail

No retail products on file.

Hours as listed

Monday through Friday, 8am to 4pm (office hours as listed on the company contact page)

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists VPP Group, LLC as a meat slaughter and meat processing establishment handling cattle under USDA inspection, with a small size class and a slaughter volume category of 3.0. No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS, so the record does not indicate custom kill and cut-and-wrap work returned to an individual owner. The website does not state booking procedures, lead times, minimums, hauling instructions, kill days, or fees. Farmers considering this plant should call (608) 823-7445 or email office@vppbeef.com to confirm what work, if any, is available as listed.

VPP Group, LLC operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

For households

The sources do not describe a retail store, freezer sales, halves or quarters, bundles, online ordering, delivery, or shipping. The website presents the business as a beef processing company rather than a direct-to-consumer outlet. Households interested in buying should contact the company directly to ask what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about VPP Group, LLC

What animals does VPP Group slaughter?
The establishment reports cattle to FSIS as the species slaughtered under inspection. No other species are listed in the federal record.
Can a farmer bring an animal here for custom processing?
Not stated. The federal record shows no custom-exempt activity, and the website does not describe custom kill or cut-and-wrap services. Contact the plant at (608) 823-7445 to ask.
Is there a retail store or can households buy beef directly?
Not stated in the sources. The website does not mention a retail counter, bundles, halves or quarters, online ordering, or shipping.
When was the company founded?
The company website says 1985 and describes nearly four decades in Norwalk. A third party business directory lists 2005. The USDA grant of inspection currently on file is dated July 23, 2021.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
July 23, 2021
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Medium volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://vppbeef.com/, https://vppbeef.com/about/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Norwalk